pickinghours

Christmas tree farms in Lancaster County

9 choose-and-cut farms within half an hour of the city, and a wider choice of tree than anywhere in the south: white pine, Douglas, concolor, Fraser, Korean and Turkish fir, Canaan fir, blue spruce and Leyland cypress. Seven have confirmed their 2026 dates.

Farms listed
9
2026 dates confirmed
7
First to open
21 Nov
Last checked
30 Oct

Christmas tree farms in Lancaster County: 2026 dates

All 9, soonest first. Tap a name for the hours, species and how to get in touch.

  1. 21 Nov2026Hunt’s Christmas TreesMillersville · 15 min south-west of LancasterFive species to cut$100–$130 at 6–8 ft
  2. 21 Nov2026Elizabeth FarmsLititz · 25 min north of LancasterChoose and cutno price published
  3. 21 Nov2026Miller’s Christmas Tree FarmElizabethtown · 30 min west of LancasterLeyland cypress and firsno price published
  4. 27 Nov2026Heritage Tree FarmRothsville · 20 min north-east of LancasterFraser, concolor, blue spruce, Douglasno price published
  5. 27 Nov2026Gehman’s Christmas Tree FarmMount Joy · 25 min west of LancasterCanaan, Douglas fir$90, any tree
  6. 27 Nov2026Frog Hollow EvergreensManheim · 20 min north-west of LancasterCanaan, concolor fir$70, any tree
  7. 28 Nov2026Country BarnLancaster · 10 min south-west of the cityCut your own or pre-cut$6.50 admission
  8. tbcBowser’s Christmas Tree FarmLititz · 20 min north of Lancasternot statedno price published
  9. tbcAbe’s Tree FarmLancaster · 10 min north of the cityDouglas, concolor, Scotch pineno price published

First to open

Three farms open on Saturday 21 November, the Saturday before Thanksgiving: Hunt’s in Millersville, Elizabeth Farms in Lititz for a half-day soft opening, and Miller’s in Elizabethtown, which then closes again until Thanksgiving. Heritage, Gehman’s and Frog Hollow all start on Black Friday — Heritage by reservation only, Gehman’s at a flat $90 a tree and Frog Hollow at a flat $70 — and Country Barn the day after.

Book or tag first

This is the part people from other states get caught by. Heritage takes choose-and-cut by reservation only, on five days. Hunt’s opens tagging on 1 October and Miller’s on 31 October — so the best trees are spoken for weeks before the season starts.

9 farms within half an hour of Lancaster, soonest to open first

Hunt’s Christmas Trees

Millersville, PA · 15 min south-west of Lancaster

The most choice and the clearest pricing in the county. In the field you can cut white pine, Douglas fir, and concolor, Korean and hybrid firs; Fraser and Canaan come pre-cut from the Indoor Forest. Tagging opens on 1 October and is free — walk the rows dawn to dusk any day, tie a tag on, come back for it. Wagon rides, a fire pit for s’mores and a free ornament from the gift shop.

2026 season21 Nov – 21 Dec
NovDec
  • OpensSat 21 Novthe Saturday before Thanksgiving
  • ClosesMon 21 Decor while supplies last
  • OpenMon, Fri, Sat, Sunclosed Tue, Wed and Thu
  • TaggingFree, from 1 Octdawn to dusk, seven days
  • 6–8 ft tree$100–$130by species, cut your own

2026 prices, published by the farm

  • White pine, 6–8 ft$100
  • Douglas fir, 6–8 ft$115
  • Concolor, Korean & hybrid, 6–8 ft$130
  • White pine, 8–10 ft$150
  • Douglas fir, 8–10 ft$210
  • White pine, 10–12 ft$200
  • Concolor, Korean & hybrid, 8–10 ft$250
  • White pine, 12–14 ft$300
  • Pre-cut Fraser, 4–5 ft$60
  • Pre-cut Canaan, 5–6 ft$85
  • Pre-cut Fraser, 6–8 ft$125
  • Pre-cut Fraser, 8–10 ft$250

What’s there

  • White pine
  • Douglas fir
  • Concolor fir
  • Korean fir
  • Hybrid firs
  • Pre-cut Fraser and Canaan
  • Free tagging
  • Wagon rides
  • Fire pit and s’mores
  • Free ornament
  • Gift shop
  • Pet friendly

Practical

  • Dogsyes — the farm says pet-friendly
  • Paymentnot stated
  • Restroomsnot stated

Worth knowingThe weekly pattern matters here: Monday and Friday noon–5pm, Saturday 8am–5pm, Sunday noon–5pm, and closed Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. They are closed on Thanksgiving Day and open 8am–5pm on Black Friday. Tagging is free and runs dawn to dusk seven days a week from 1 October — stop at the tag booth by the car park before you walk out. If you want the tree cut before you arrive to collect it, ring ahead.

Before you set offThe farm says its inventory moves quickly and asks you to ring 717-330-8102 to check availability before setting off, particularly for the tall trees: the 8–10 ft firs are marked limited supply and the 12–14 ft white pines very limited.

Contact

Checked 14 Oct 2026

Elizabeth Farms

Lititz, PA · 25 min north of Lancaster

The one to pick if the tree is only half the point. Horse-drawn wagon rides on Fridays and Saturdays, Santa’s Workshop, a gift shop, cooked breakfast and lunch at the weekend and a bar serving holiday drinks. The farm runs a corn maze and pumpkin patch in autumn and weddings the rest of the year, with Scottish Highland cattle on the property.

2026 season21 Nov – 19 Dec
NovDec
  • Soft openingSat 21 Nov9am–12pm, trees and shop only
  • Full seasonFrom Fri 27 NovBlack Friday, 9am–6pm
  • OpenWed–Sunhours differ by day
  • Last daySat 19 Dec9am–12pm, trees only
  • Pricesnot publishednot published

Every 2026 date

  • Sat 21 Nov — soft opening9am–12pm
  • Fri 27 Nov — Black Friday9am–6pm
  • Sat 28 Nov9am–6pm
  • Sun 29 Nov12pm–5pm
  • Wed and Thu, in season1pm–5pm
  • Fri, in season1pm–6pm
  • Sat 5 Dec9am–6pm
  • Sun 6 Dec12pm–5pm
  • Sat 12 Dec9am–6pm
  • Sun 13 Dec — last full day12pm–5pm
  • Sat 19 Dec — trees only9am–12pm

What’s there

  • Choose and cut
  • Horse-drawn wagon rides
  • Santa’s Workshop
  • Gift shop
  • Breakfast and lunch
  • Bar
  • Scottish Highland cattle
  • Corn maze and pumpkin patch in autumn

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • Paymentnot stated
  • Restroomsnot stated

Worth knowingNot every day is the full experience. The horses only come out on Fridays and Saturdays, and Wednesdays and Thursdays have no horses, no food, no bar and no Santa — just trees. The last full day is Sunday 13 December; the 19th is trees and nothing else, and after that you have to ring.

Contact

Checked 14 Oct 2026

Miller’s Christmas Tree Farm

Elizabethtown, PA · 30 min west of Lancaster

The longest season in the county by a distance — open every day from Thanksgiving right through to Christmas Eve, with evening hours until 8pm on weekdays and Saturdays, which no other farm here offers. Tagging opens on 31 October. It is their 30th year, and there is a second farm at Bernville in Berks County.

2026 season21 Nov – 24 Dec
NovDec
  • TaggingFrom 31 Oct
  • OpensSat 21 Novthen closed 23–25 Nov
  • Full season26 Nov – 24 Decevery day
  • Late openingUntil 8pmweekdays and Saturdays
  • Pricesnot publishedper foot, figures not readable

Every 2026 date

  • Sat 21 – Sun 22 Nov10:30am–4pm
  • Mon 23 – Wed 25 Novclosed
  • Thu 26 Nov — Thanksgiving10:30am–4pm
  • Fri 27 Nov — Black Friday9am–8pm
  • Mon–Fri, in season1pm–8pm
  • Saturdays9am–8pm
  • Sundays10am–6pm
  • Thu 24 Dec — Christmas Eve10am–2pm

What’s there

  • Leyland cypress
  • Wreaths and greens
  • Tree stands
  • Letters to Santa
  • Local vendors
  • Food trucks
  • Second farm at Bernville

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • Paymentnot stated
  • Restroomsnot stated

Before you set offThe farm publishes a price page that lists its species by the foot — Douglas fir, Fraser fir, blue spruce, Canaan and concolor, and balled live trees — but the amounts beside them did not come through legibly when we read it, so we have not printed a figure rather than print a wrong one. Their own page also gives no street address or phone for either farm; it names only Elizabethtown and Bernville. We have asked.

Contact

Checked 14 Oct 2026

Heritage Tree Farm

Rothsville, PA · 20 min north-east of Lancaster

The only farm here where you cannot simply turn up to cut: choose-and-cut is by reservation, on five days only, booked through a sign-up sheet on their site. Horse-drawn wagon rides run on the Saturdays. If you have not booked, the self-serve fresh-cut trees are open daily and the premium fresh-cut start on Black Friday with no reservation needed.

2026 season27 Nov – 12 Dec
NovDec
  • OpensFri 27 Novlast day Sat 12 Dec
  • Choose and cutBy reservationfive days only
  • Hours9am–4pmon open days
  • Fresh-cutSelf-serve dailyno reservation
  • Pricesnot publishednot published

Every 2026 date

  • Fri 27 Nov9am–4pm, by reservation
  • Sat 28 Nov9am–4pm, wagon rides 9:30–3
  • Fri 4 Dec9am–4pm, by reservation
  • Sat 5 Dec9am–4pm, wagon rides 9:30–3
  • Fri 11 Dec9am–4pm, fresh-cut only
  • Sat 12 Dec — final day9am–4pm, wagon rides 9:30–3

What’s there

  • Fraser fir
  • Concolor fir
  • Blue spruce
  • Douglas fir
  • Horse-drawn wagon rides
  • Christmas shop
  • Wreaths
  • Garland
  • Self-serve fresh-cut

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • Paymentnot stated
  • Restroomsnot stated

Before you set offBook before you drive out. Choose-and-cut here is reservation-only and runs on five days: 27 and 28 November, 4 and 5 December and 12 December. Friday 11 December is fresh-cut only. The sign-up sheet is on their website and the farm says the 2026 list is already live.

Contact

Checked 14 Oct 2026

Gehman’s Christmas Tree Farm

Mount Joy, PA · 25 min west of Lancaster

Ten acres of cut-your-own on a family farm bought by Leon and Anna Gehman in 1975, where Seth Gehman started planting Christmas trees in 2018 and harvested the first of them in 2023. One price for every tree, cut or pre-cut, with the tax already in it, and a saw handed to you at the gate.

  • OpensFri 27 Novlast day Sat 12 Dec
  • Open daysFivethree Fridays and two Saturdays
  • Any tree$90tax included, cut your own or pre-cut
  • SpeciesCanaan and Douglas firnamed on the farm’s own page
  • SawProvidedtree prepared for transport

Every 2026 date

  • Fri 27 Nov9am–5pm
  • Sat 28 Nov9am–5pm
  • Fri 4 Dec1pm–5pm
  • Sat 5 Dec9am–5pm
  • Fri 11 Dec1pm–5pm
  • Sat 12 Dec9am–5pm

2026 prices, published by the farm

  • Choose and cut, any tree$90
  • Pre-cut, any tree$90
  • Taxincluded in both

What’s there

  • One price for any tree
  • Canaan fir
  • Douglas fir
  • Ten acres of cut your own
  • Saw provided
  • Pre-cut trees from partner growers
  • Family photos welcome

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • Paymentnot stated
  • Restroomsnot stated

Worth knowingA flat $90 changes how you choose. On a farm that prices by height, a tall tree is the expensive decision; here the only question is which tree you like, and the biggest one in the field costs what the smallest does. Note the two Friday afternoons — 4 and 11 December open at 1pm, not 9am.

Before you set offThe farm has published a block headed 2026 Hours, which settles what we were asking about: the November 28 with no year on it that used to be the only date on the site was last season’s. The street number has moved too — their own footer now gives 1650 Nolt Road where older listings, ours included, said 1648.

Contact

Checked 28 Oct 2026

Frog Hollow Evergreens

Manheim, PA · 20 min north-west of Lancaster

A small farm between Manheim and Mount Joy, growing since 1986 and selling only locally — no shipping, no tagging, one flat price for every tree on the place whatever its size or species. They hand you the saw and the tag, drill the trunk for a Stand Strait stand, net the tree and find you a length of rope for the roof.

  • OpensFri 27 Novlast day Sun 6 Dec
  • Open daysSixtwo three-day weekends, Friday to Sunday
  • Any tree$70tax included, any size, any species
  • SpeciesFourCanaan, Douglas and concolor fir, Norway spruce
  • IncludedSaw, tag, drilling and nettingno extra charge

Every 2026 date, from the farm

  • Fri 27 Nov9am–4:30pm
  • Sat 28 Nov9am–4:30pm
  • Sun 29 Nov9am–4:30pm
  • Fri 4 Dec9am–4:30pm
  • Sat 5 Dec9am–4:30pm
  • Sun 6 Dec9am–4:30pm

The farm’s flat price for 2026, from the farm

  • Any tree, any size$66.04 plus 6% tax
  • Which comes to$70.00

What’s there

  • One flat price for any tree
  • Canaan fir
  • Douglas fir
  • Concolor fir
  • Norway spruce
  • Saws and tags provided
  • Free drilling for Stand Strait stands
  • Netting
  • Rope for the roof
  • Cash, cheque or card

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • Paymentcash, cheque or credit card
  • Restroomsnot stated

Worth knowingA flat price changes how you choose: a 6 ft concolor and an 8 ft Canaan cost the same here, so pick on smell and branch rather than on the ticket. The farm expects Canaan and concolor fir up to about 8 ft in the field this year, which is taller than last season, when it was 5 to 6 ft Douglas and Canaan with a few concolors. Douglas fir and Norway spruce are also grown, but a given weekend may not have all four.

Before you set offThese dates, hours and the price come from Maryanne Schwartz at the farm, who answered us by email on 29 October; the website still showed the 2025 season when we checked. Six days only, in two Friday-to-Sunday weekends, and the farm closes in continuous rain and adds a weekend when it does — so check before setting out. It shuts at 4:30pm firm, with no lighting in the fields.

Contact

Checked 30 Oct 2026

Country Barn

Lancaster, PA · 10 min south-west of the city

Eighty-one acres ten minutes from the city, where the Christmas trees are one part of a day out rather than the whole of it. Jim planted the first batch in 2000 and harvested them in 2008; there are more than twenty acres of them now. A train carries you out to the fields, and the ride comes with admission to Barnyard Kingdom rather than with the tree.

  • OpensSat 28 Novlast day Sun 13 Dec
  • Open daysSixthree weekends — see the warning below
  • Admission$6.50under-2s have their own ticket
  • TreesCut your own or pre-cutpriced by height
  • Tree pricesnot publishedonly the admission is

Every 2026 date

  • Sat 28 – Sun 29 NovChristmas in Barnyard Kingdom
  • Sat 5 – Sun 6 Decsecond weekend
  • Sat 12 – Sun 13 Declast weekend

2026 admission — the only price the farm publishes

  • Admission, general$6.50
  • Admission, under 2a ticket of its own
  • Train ride to the treesincluded with admission
  • The tree itselfpriced by height at the farm

What’s there

  • Train rides to the tree fields
  • Giant slides
  • Barnyard animals
  • Trike rides
  • Straw pyramid
  • Elf scavenger hunt
  • Hedge maze
  • Christmas crafts
  • Breakfast with Santa
  • Farm market

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • Paymenttickets bought online in advance
  • Restroomsnot stated

Worth knowingThis is the only farm on the page where getting to the trees is ticketed. Tickets are final sale with no refunds, but the farm says that if a day is cancelled your ticket is honoured on any other day of the event. Breakfast with Santa runs on the same six days and is booked separately.

Before you set offThe farm publishes its dates twice and differently. Its ticket page says 28 and 29 November and 5, 6, 12 and 13 December; its events page says 29 and 30 November and 6, 7, 13 and 14 December. The first set is Saturdays and Sundays in 2026 and the second is Saturdays and Sundays in 2025, so the events page appears not to have been turned over. We have printed the first and asked them to confirm. Two phone numbers appear as well: 717-872-5591 and the 717-872-1554 printed under the logo.

Contact

Checked 28 Oct 2026

Bowser’s Christmas Tree Farm

Lititz, PA · 20 min north of Lancaster

A long-established Lititz farm with hayrides, Santa, cocoa and cider, and a website that says nothing whatever about any of it this season.

  • 2026 datesnot publishednothing published
  • HayridesYeson the farm
  • SantaYesno dates given
  • RefreshmentsCocoa and cider
  • Tree pricesnot publishednot published

What’s there

  • Hayrides
  • Santa
  • Hot cocoa
  • Cider

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • Paymentnot stated
  • Restroomsnot stated

Before you set offOver thirty years of trading and not a single date on the website. What is there now is a blog of general Christmas articles — the newest from August last year, and one of them about how to choose an artificial tree — with no opening times, no prices and no email address. Ring 717-626-8648; it is the only way to find out whether they are open.

Contact

Checked 28 Oct 2026

Abe’s Tree Farm

Lancaster, PA · 10 min north of the city

A choose-and-cut farm on Butter Road along the Conestoga, with a red barn and a big white star on the hill to aim for. No tagging here — you pick on the day — and every tree goes through the shaker, gets drilled if you use a pin stand and is netted before it leaves.

  • 2026 datesnot publishedsite says closed for last season
  • SpeciesThreeDouglas and concolor fir, Scotch pine
  • TaggingNonethe farm says so plainly
  • PaymentCash or cheque onlyno credit cards
  • Tree pricesnot publishednot published

What the farm grows, by size

  • Douglas fir5 to 10 ft and over
  • Scotch pine7 ft and over
  • Concolor firno sizes given
  • Pricesnot published for any of them

What’s there

  • Douglas fir, 5 to 10 ft+
  • Concolor fir
  • Scotch pine, 7 ft+
  • Saws provided
  • Every tree shaken
  • Drilled for a pin stand
  • Netted
  • Handmade wreaths
  • Fresh greens
  • Cash or cheque only

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • Paymentcash or cheque only — no cards
  • Restroomsnot stated

Worth knowingThree species and no tagging makes this a turn-up-and-choose farm in a county full of book-ahead ones. Bring cash or a chequebook: they say no credit cards, which is rarer every year and worth knowing at the till. From Route 30, take the New Holland Pike exit east about a mile, turn left at Eden onto Butter Road and look for the red barn with the white star.

Before you set offTheir homepage reads “Closed for the 2025 season! Merry Christmas!” and their Facebook page has not been posted to since Christmas Day last year, so there are no dates here for 2026 and no email address anywhere to ask at. Ring 717-397-0109. The species, the payment rule and the no-tagging rule are the farm’s own and do not change from season to season; the dates do.

Contact

Checked 28 Oct 2026

Four more farms we could not check

These are listed in the county’s directories but either keep no website or block automated reading. That is not the same as having published nothing, so rather than guess we are naming them and saying plainly that they are unchecked. The addresses come from pickyourownchristmastree.org’s Lancaster County list rather than from the farms.

Been to one of these this year? Tell us what you found and it goes up with a proper card.

Lancaster County Christmas tree questions

Where can you cut your own Christmas tree in Lancaster County?

9 farms, all within half an hour of the city. Hunt’s in Millersville has the widest choice of species in the county; Elizabeth Farms in Lititz has horse-drawn wagon rides, Santa and a bar; Miller’s in Elizabethtown has the longest season, open every day to Christmas Eve; and Country Barn runs a train out to the fields. Heritage in Rothsville takes bookings rather than walk-ins.

When do Lancaster County Christmas tree farms open in 2026?

Three open on Saturday 21 November: Hunt’s, Elizabeth Farms for a morning soft opening, and Miller’s, which then shuts again from the 23rd to the 25th. Heritage, Gehman’s and Frog Hollow open on Black Friday, 27 November, and Country Barn on Saturday 28 November. The season runs longest at Miller’s, to Christmas Eve; Hunt’s to 21 December, Elizabeth Farms to the 19th, Country Barn to the 13th, Heritage and Gehman’s to the 12th, and Frog Hollow to the 6th — six days in all, in two Friday-to-Sunday weekends, which is the shortest season in the county.

What kind of Christmas trees grow in Pennsylvania?

Far more kinds than in the southern states, and that is the real reason to cut your own here. Hunt’s alone grows white pine, Douglas fir, concolor fir, Fraser fir, Korean fir and Turkish fir. Across the county you can also cut Canaan fir, blue spruce and Leyland cypress. By comparison, the North Carolina mountains grow Fraser fir and very little else. If you want to know which to pick, our Fraser fir vs Douglas fir guide covers the three most common.

Do I need to book a Christmas tree in Lancaster County?

At Heritage Tree Farm, yes — choose-and-cut there is reservation only, through a sign-up sheet on their website, on five days in all. Nowhere else requires it, but two farms open tagging long before the season: Hunt’s from 1 October and Miller’s from 31 October. You walk the field, tag the tree you want and come back for it. It is a Pennsylvania habit that catches out visitors, and it means the best trees are claimed weeks before anyone opens.

How much is a Christmas tree in Lancaster County?

Hunt’s publishes a full 2026 list and it is the one to plan from: $100 for a 6–8 ft white pine, $115 for a Douglas fir and $130 for a concolor, Korean or hybrid fir, rising to $250 for an 8–10 ft fir and $300 for a 12–14 ft white pine. Pre-cut Fraser runs $60 at 4–5 ft to $250 at 8–10 ft, with Canaan at $85. Tagging is free. Gehman’s charges one 2026 price for every tree on the farm, cut or pre-cut — $90 with the tax in it — which makes a tall tree there the cheapest tall tree in the county. Frog Hollow works the same way at $70 flat — $66.04 plus tax — which the farm confirmed to us for 2026 on 29 October. Country Barn is the only one that charges you to reach the trees at all: $6.50 admission, with the tree priced by height on top. Miller’s prices by the foot without legible amounts. Our what a tree costs page collects every real price list we hold, across both states.

Which farm is best with children?

Country Barn if the point is the day out — a train ride to the tree fields, giant slides, barnyard animals, a hedge maze and an elf scavenger hunt, on six days from 28 November, with $6.50 admission and Breakfast with Santa bookable separately. Elizabeth Farms for horse-drawn wagon rides and Santa’s Workshop, with cooked food at the weekend. Hunt’s is the gentler version: a wagon ride, a fire pit for s’mores and a free ornament, with no ticket.

Can I bring my dog?

Hunt’s says so plainly — pet-friendly and kid-friendly grounds. None of the others state a policy either way, which usually means a leashed dog is fine but is worth a phone call if you would rather not find out at the gate.

Why do some of these farms still show last year’s dates?

Because a farm that sells most of its trees over four or five weekends has little reason to touch its website in October. Two still do: Bowser’s, whose site is now a blog of general Christmas articles with no farm information at all, and Abe’s, which still says it is closed for the 2025 season. Frog Hollow was the third until 29 October, when we wrote to ask and the farm sent back its six 2026 dates and its flat $70 — the website still shows last season, so the dates on this page are the farm’s own words rather than its website’s. Gehman’s was in this list until 28 October, with no year attached to its dates, which we caught by checking the weekdays: 28 November is a Friday in 2025 and a Saturday in 2026. It has now posted a block headed 2026. We leave a date column empty rather than carry last season forward — but what a farm grows, what it charges you to walk in and how it takes payment all go up, because those change far more slowly than dates do.

How these were checked

Every listing above was read on the farm’s own website, and each card carries the date it was last read. Six of the nine have posted 2026 dates, which is a better showing than any county we list in North Carolina. Of the rest, each card says whether the farm is showing last season’s dates or publishing no calendar at all, and quotes the farm. What a farm grows, what it charges to walk in and how it takes payment go up either way, because those change far more slowly than dates do.

Dates and prices change. Check with the farm before you set off, and if you spot something stale here, say so and it gets fixed.

Also on pickinghours