pickinghours

Christmas tree farms in Chester County

6 farms from Pottstown to Landenberg, and the best-documented county in Pennsylvania: two of the six have posted a 2026 season with the year on it and a price list, which no York County farm manages, and a third gave us its opening date when we wrote to ask. One of them charges two different prices for the same species, and explains why.

Farms listed
6
2026 dates confirmed
3
Cheapest per foot
$12
Last checked
30 Oct

Christmas tree farms in Chester County: the 2026 position

All 6 we can list properly, soonest to open first. Tap a name for hours, species and how to get in touch.

  1. 21 Nov2026Westlake Tree FarmsPottstown · northern Chester CountyCanaan, Concolor$12–$18 per foot
  2. 21 Nov2026Old Stone FarmLandenberg · southern Chester CountyDouglas, Concolor, Fraser$100 any tree
  3. 21 Nov2026Clark’s Christmas Tree FarmCochranville · open seven daysFive firs, namedBy the foot
  4. tbcWiggins Christmas TreesWest Chester and Cochranville · two farmsDouglas, Fraserno price published
  5. tbcMarsh Creek Tree FarmElverson · 200 acresFive speciesno price published
  6. tbcSchmidt’s Christmas Tree FarmLandenberg · open seven daysFour firs, a spruceno price published

Three dated seasons, which is three more than York

Westlake at Pottstown prints “2026 TREEdition Season Dates: November 21 – December 19, 2026” and opens Thursday to Sunday, 9 to 5. Old Stone at Landenberg opens 21 and 22 November, shuts for Thanksgiving week and then opens every day from 27 November until the trees run out. Both put the year next to the date. Clark’s makes three: it publishes a rule rather than a date, so we asked, and the farm told us 21 November on 29 October. Wiggins and Schmidt’s still give a rule only, and Marsh Creek still shows an older season — ring those three.

The cheapest foot of fir in Pennsylvania

Westlake charges $18 a foot for Canaan fir from a first-year field and $12 from a final-harvest one — same species, a third less, and the only farm we list anywhere that explains the difference. A flat $100 at Old Stone beats both on a tall tree: at 10 ft, $100 against $120 or $180.

6 Chester County farms that publish enough to plan around

Westlake Tree Farms

Pottstown, PA · northern Chester County

The only farm in the county that publishes both its season and its prices, and the only farm on the whole site that charges two different prices for the same species — Canaan fir is $18 a foot in the first-year fields and $12 in the final-harvest ones. Thursday to Sunday from 21 November, with Santa, a wagon ride and a Christmas barn at the end of it.

  • OpensSat 21 Novto 19 Dec 2026 — the farm’s own dates
  • OpenThu–Sun 9am–5pmclosed Mon to Wed, and Thanksgiving Day
  • Cut your own$12 to $18 per footthe price depends on the field
  • Fresh pre-cut$16 per foot6 to 12+ ft
  • SpeciesCanaan and Concolor firboth grown on the farm
  • Price list dated22 Jul 2026the farm’s own stamp on the table

2026 prices, published by the farm

  • Canaan fir, cut your own — first-year harvest fields$18 per foot · 6 to 8+ ft · availability excellent
  • Canaan fir, fresh pre-cut$16 per foot · 6 to 12+ ft · availability excellent
  • Canaan fir, cut your own — final harvest fields$12 per foot · 6 to 10+ ft · availability good
  • Concolor fir, cut your own — final harvest fields$12 per foot · 6 to 8+ ft · availability excellent
  • The farm’s own note“Best availability is early in the season.”

What’s there

  • Cut your own
  • Fresh pre-cut
  • Canaan fir
  • Concolor fir
  • Per-foot pricing
  • Wagon rides
  • Santa
  • Christmas barn
  • Trains
  • Ornaments
  • Hot cocoa
  • Thursday to Sunday

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • Paymentnot stated
  • Admissionnot stated

Worth knowingTwo prices for one tree is not a misprint. Canaan fir out of a first-year harvest field is $18 a foot and out of a final harvest field $12 — a third less. A first-year field is one being cut for the first time, so the trees in it have had every year of their growth shaped for this; a final harvest field is being cleared, so what is left is what nobody picked in earlier seasons. On a 7 ft tree that is $126 against $84. If the shape matters more than the money, pay the $18; if it does not, the cheaper field is the best value per foot anywhere in the three Pennsylvania counties we list.

Before you set offThe farm rates its own availability on the price table, and three of the four lines read “excellent” while the cheap final-harvest Canaan reads “good” — so the bargain field is the one most likely to be picked over. “Best availability is early in the season” is their wording, not ours. Nothing on the site says whether cards are taken, whether there is anything to pay to walk in, or whether dogs are welcome.

Contact

Checked 29 Oct 2026

Old Stone Farm

Landenberg, PA · southern Chester County

Opens on the Saturday before Thanksgiving with the year printed next to the date, shuts for Thanksgiving week and then opens every single day until the trees run out. One price, $100, for a pre-cut tree or one you cut yourself — and a free drilling service that is new this season.

  • OpensSat 21 Novand Sun 22 Nov, 8am–4pm — the farm’s own 2026 dates
  • Then closedMon 23 to Thu 26 NovThanksgiving week
  • ReopensFri 27 Novdaily 8am–4pm from then on
  • Season endsWhen the trees run out“Until trees are sold out”
  • Price$100pre-cut and choose-and-cut alike
  • SpeciesThreeDouglas, Concolor and Fraser fir

Every 2026 date the farm has published

  • Sat 21 and Sun 22 November8:00am to 4:00pm
  • Mon 23 November to Thanksgiving, Thu 26 Novemberclosed
  • From Fri 27 Novemberdaily, 8:00am to 4:00pm, “until trees are sold out”

2026 prices, published by the farm

  • Pre-cut trees$100.00
  • Choose and cut$100.00
  • Per tree or per foot?the farm prints the figure and not the unit — ring 484-798-8413 to check
  • Tree drillingFree — “new this year”, for a pin stand
  • Wreaths12 to 50 inches across
  • Douglas fir7 to 10 ft
  • Concolor and Fraser fir7 to 8 ft

What’s there

  • Choose and cut
  • Pre-cut
  • Douglas fir
  • Concolor fir
  • Fraser fir
  • Free drilling
  • Wreaths
  • Two car parks
  • Open daily after Black Friday
  • A 200-year-old barn

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • Paymentnot stated
  • Admissionnot stated

Worth knowingA flat price changes the arithmetic completely. At $100 a tree whatever its size, a 10 ft Douglas fir here costs the same as a 7 ft one — and at Westlake up the county a 10 ft tree at $12 a foot is $120 and at $18 a foot is $180. If you want a tall tree, this is the farm. The one thing the page does not say is whether $100 is per tree or per foot, and we are not going to guess on a price, so ring before you set off if the answer matters.

Before you set offThere are two car parks and they are not in the same place. The north car park is 688 Strickersville Road, Landenberg, and it is the one to use on a weekday; the west car park is on Chesterville Road and opens at weekends. The farm says both are the same walk to the trees. Its own site gives two different postcodes for the west car park, so we print the north one and the telephone number rather than pick between them.

Contact

Checked 29 Oct 2026

Clark’s Christmas Tree Farm

Cochranville, PA · southern Chester County

The only farm in the three Pennsylvania counties we list that is open seven days a week through the whole season — and the farm told us its own opening date when we asked. Five species of fir from three feet to twelve, drilled and wrapped for nothing, and free parking. Dogs come too, on a lead, though not into the gift shop. Prices are by the foot and the farm would rather not list them.

  • OpensSat 21 Novthe farm’s own date, given to us on 29 Oct
  • OpenMonday to Sundayevery day of the season
  • Weekday hours1pm–5:30pmSat 8am–5:30pm, Sun 9am–5pm
  • Thanksgiving DayClosedBlack Friday 8am–5pm
  • PriceBy the footvaries by species; the farm declines to list it
  • DogsOn a leadnot in the gift shop; no aggressive dogs

Opening and the weekly pattern, in the farm’s own words

  • OpensSaturday 21 November 2026
  • Weekdays1:00pm to 5:30pm
  • Saturday8:00am to 5:30pm
  • Sunday9:00am to 5:00pm
  • Thanksgiving Dayclosed
  • Black Friday8:00am to 5:00pm
  • The farm’s own note“It is much less crowded during the week!”

What the farm says about price

  • How it chargesBy the foot, and the rate varies by species
  • The figuresthe farm would rather not list them — ring 610-358-4933
  • Included in the priceDrilling and wrapping, free on every tree
  • Trees3 to 12 ft; pre-cut Fraser fir up to 12 ft

What’s there

  • Cut your own
  • Pre-cut Fraser to 12 ft
  • Fraser fir
  • Douglas fir
  • Canaan fir
  • Korean fir
  • Concolor fir
  • Dogs on leads, not in the shop
  • Free parking
  • Drilled and wrapped free
  • Open seven days
  • 3,000 sq ft Christmas shop
  • Caramel corn and hot chocolate
  • Tree stands sold

Practical

  • DogsOn a lead, and not in the gift shop
  • PaymentCredit, debit, cash and cheque — cheques need ID
  • AdmissionFree, and parking is free, first come first served

Worth knowingFive species of fir is the widest choice in the county, and the farm is open every day rather than at weekends, which almost nothing else here manages. Its own advice is to come midweek: “It is much less crowded during the week!” The catch is the 1pm start on weekdays, so a weekday visit is an afternoon one. Dress in layers — the farm says it is windy — and wear boots, because it says it gets muddy.

Before you set offSaturday 21 November is the farm’s own date: Bill Clark gave it to us on 29 October, where before we had only the farm’s rule about the weekend before Thanksgiving. He also told us the website was about to be rebuilt, so what you find there may not match the pattern above yet. On prices he was explicit that there are too many to list and the farm would rather not, so the by-the-foot rate is a phone call rather than an oversight. On dogs, his terms are that they must be on a lead, that aggressive dogs are not welcome and that no dog goes into the gift shop.

Contact

Checked 30 Oct 2026

Wiggins Christmas Trees

West Chester and Cochranville, PA · two farms and a pre-cut lot

Two choose-and-cut fields half an hour apart and a pre-cut lot on West Chester Pike, all three opening on Black Friday. Saws are provided at both farms. The Cochranville field runs from two feet to ten, which is the widest range of sizes in the county — a two-foot Douglas fir is a tabletop tree, and almost nobody else here grows one.

  • OpensBlack FridayFri 27 Nov 2026 by that rule — our arithmetic, not their date
  • The two farmsSat and Sun 9am–4pmand Black Friday itself, 9am–4pm
  • The pre-cut lotMon–Fri 10:30am–9pmSat and Sun 9am–9pm — the only weekday trees in the county
  • SawsProvidedat both choose-and-cut farms
  • SpeciesDouglas and Fraser firDouglas in the fields, both on the lot
  • Sizes2 to 11+ ftthe widest range on this page

The three locations, and what each one is

  • West Chester farm — choose and cut1257 Westtown Thornton Rd · Black Friday 9am–4pm, then Saturdays and Sundays 9am–4pm · Douglas fir, average 7 to 8 ft · saws provided
  • Cochranville farm — choose and cut2176 Gap Newport Pike · Black Friday 9am–4pm, then Saturdays and Sundays 9am–4pm · Douglas fir, 2 to 10 ft · saws provided
  • West Chester Pike — pre-cut lot, not a farm you walk1301 West Chester Pike · Black Friday 9am–9pm, Mon to Fri 10:30am–9pm, Sat and Sun 9am–9pm · Douglas and Fraser fir, 5 to 11+ ft

What’s there

  • Two choose-and-cut farms
  • A pre-cut lot
  • Saws provided
  • Douglas fir
  • Fraser fir
  • Tabletop trees from 2 ft
  • Holly
  • Wreaths
  • Pine roping
  • Tree stands
  • Christmas tree train
  • Weekends only at the farms

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • Paymentnot stated
  • Admissionnot stated

Worth knowingThree addresses, and which one you want depends on what you are after. Cochranville for a small tree — 2 ft upward, where every other farm on this page starts at 6 or 7. West Chester for the usual 7 to 8 ft Douglas fir. The West Chester Pike lot if it has to be a weekday or an evening, because the two fields are weekends-only and the lot is open until 9pm six days a week. A pre-cut lot is not a farm you walk, so it does not count toward the six on this page.

Before you set offThe two fields are open at weekends only. Turning up at the Cochranville or West Chester farm on a Tuesday will not work, however late the lot on West Chester Pike stays open. The farm publishes no prices at all, for either the fields or the lot, and no payment methods; its opening is “Season Opening Hours: Black Friday”, which is a rule and not a dated 2026 announcement, so 27 November is our arithmetic. The site was last edited two days before we read it, which is as fresh as anything in the county.

Contact

Checked 29 Oct 2026

Marsh Creek Tree Farm

Elverson, PA · northern Chester County

Five species over two hundred acres, three seedlings planted for every tree cut, and the only farm in Pennsylvania we list that takes Venmo. Its dates are last season’s, so ring before you drive — but it is worth knowing that the crew haul, shake, bale, tie and load the tree for you while you have the wagon ride back.

  • Opensnot published for 2026its site still shows the 2025 season
  • Last season, for shapeSat and Sun 9am–4pm28 Nov to 21 Dec 2025 — not this year’s
  • SpeciesFiveCanaan, Fraser and Concolor fir, blue and Norway spruce
  • SawProvided on arrivalbring your own if you would rather
  • PaymentCash, cheque, card or Venmothe only Venmo on this page
  • ReplantingThree seedlings per tree cutthe farm’s own figure

What the farm has published, and the year attached to it

  • 2026 datesnone published yet
  • Last season, in their words“Opening day is November 28, 2025” — which was Black Friday 2025
  • And“Every Saturday-Sunday 9:00AM to 4:00PM starting November 28 (We are open Black Friday) through December 21, 2025.”
  • Why that is not on this page as a 2026 date28 November 2025 was a Friday, and Black Friday that year. The farm’s two statements agree with each other and with last year’s calendar, so they are last season’s and are printed here as last season’s.

What’s there

  • Cut your own
  • Canaan fir
  • Fraser fir
  • Concolor fir
  • Blue spruce
  • Norway spruce
  • Saw provided
  • Wagon ride
  • Shaken, baled and tied
  • Loaded at the car
  • Venmo
  • 200 acres

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • PaymentCash, cheque, credit card or Venmo
  • ChainsawsYour own is allowed — “use at your own risk”

Worth knowingCanaan fir is the farm’s own recommendation, for strong branches and for lasting, and every tree here was grown from a Pennsylvania seedling. The detail worth having is what happens after you cut: staff measure the tree and give you a tag, then haul it, shake it, bale it, tie it and load it at the car line while you ride the wagon back. For three seedlings planted for every tree taken, this is the only farm on the page that puts a number on its replanting.

Before you set off“MARSH ROAD IS NOT CLOSED AS GOOGLE MAPS INDICATES!!” — the farm’s own capitals. The southern section of Marsh Road was under construction, and the farm asks you to turn onto Marsh Road from the north, where it meets Conestoga Road, Route 401. That notice is dated 2025 along with everything else on the site, so the roadworks may well be finished; the point is that your satnav may still be wrong. No 2026 dates and no prices anywhere.

Contact

Checked 29 Oct 2026

Schmidt’s Christmas Tree Farm

Landenberg, PA · southern Chester County

Twenty-five acres that began as two acres of Scotch pine seedlings in 1970, open seven days a week from the Friday after Thanksgiving — noon to five on weekdays and eight to five at weekends. Four firs and a blue spruce, saws provided, a tractor and wagon out to the cut fields, and two live reindeer in the yard.

  • OpensThe Friday after ThanksgivingFri 27 Nov 2026 by that rule — our arithmetic, not their date
  • Monday to FridayNoon–5pmevery weekday of the season
  • Saturday and Sunday8am–5pmthe long days
  • SpeciesFour firs and a spruceFraser, Concolor, Canaan and Douglas fir, and Colorado blue spruce
  • Choose and cutYesand pre-cut, both — saws provided
  • Out to the fieldsTractor and wagontrees shaken and baled for you

Opening and hours, in the farm’s own words

  • Opening“Opening Friday after Thanksgiving” — which is Fri 27 November in 2026, by our arithmetic and not the farm’s
  • Monday to Friday12:00 noon to 5:00pm
  • Saturday and Sunday8:00am to 5:00pm
  • Evening hayridesFriday, Saturday and Sunday evenings, with your own campfire — “Reservations are required.”
  • School toursweekday mornings from September — hayride, the reindeer, hot chocolate and popcorn
  • Pricesnot published — ring 610-274-8560

What’s there

  • Cut your own
  • Pre-cut
  • Fraser fir
  • Concolor fir
  • Canaan fir
  • Douglas fir
  • Colorado blue spruce
  • Saws provided
  • Shaken and baled
  • Tractor and wagon rides
  • Two live reindeer
  • Free coffee and hot chocolate
  • Gift shop
  • Wreaths made to order
  • Winterberry holly
  • Living trees all year
  • Open seven days

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • Paymentnot stated
  • Admissionnot stated

Worth knowingTwo things here are unusual enough to be the reason to come. There are two live reindeer on the farm, which no other farm we list anywhere has, and the farm cuts winterberry holly — the bare red-berried branches that go in a vase or a wreath — and sells the living plants in the gift shop. Living trees are sold all year round, not only in December, so this is also where to come in March for something to plant. Coffee and hot chocolate are free.

Before you set offThere is an older Schmidt’s website still circulating, and it is badly out of date. It carries the same address and the same family history, so it reads as genuine — but its newest dates are from 2023, it names species the farm no longer lists, and it gives no telephone number. Everything on this card comes from the farm’s current site, schmidtschristmastreefarm.com, which is the one to use. The farm publishes no prices on it, so ring 610-274-8560 before you plan around a budget, and the opening date here is our arithmetic from “the Friday after Thanksgiving” rather than a date the farm has printed.

Contact

Checked 29 Oct 2026

One listing that is not what the directories say

Tricolor Tree Farm, 1480 Hall Road, West Chester · 610-269-1034 · sales@tricolortree.com. Listed in the Chester County Christmas tree directories, and it is not a Christmas tree farm. Its own site calls the business a “Large Tree Transplanting Specialist” and sells moving grown trees into gardens — “We can create instant shade with a new tree” — with photographs of tricolor beech, weeping beech, Crimson King maple, fastigiate white pine, American holly and pin oak. The words “Christmas trees” and “cut your own” appear on the page exactly once each, in its meta keywords, which is almost certainly how it came to be in a Christmas tree directory at all. Worth ringing if you want a semi-mature tree planted; not somewhere to cut a Christmas tree.

Three more Chester County places sell pre-cut trees only, so they are not on the list above either: Farmer’s Daughter Farm Market at Spring City, Buck Run Evergreen Farms at West Chester, and Wiggins’ own lot on West Chester Pike. A lot is a fine way to buy a tree; it just is not a field you walk.

Eight more farms we could not check

Chester County has more choose-and-cut farms than any county we cover, and these eight we cannot describe. Three keep only a Facebook page, which we cannot read; one has lost its website; and the rest publish nothing we could find at all. That is not the same as having published nothing, so rather than guess we are naming them with the contact details the county’s directories give and saying plainly that they are unchecked.

Been to one of these this year? Tell us and it goes up with a proper card.

Chester County Christmas tree questions

Where can you cut your own Christmas tree in Chester County, PA?

6 farms publish enough to plan around, and Chester has something neither Lancaster nor York has: two farms with a 2026 season and a price list up at the same time. Westlake at Pottstown charges by the foot and prints every band; Old Stone at Landenberg charges a flat $100 and opens every day once Thanksgiving is past; Clark’s at Cochranville is open seven days a week with five species of fir, and dogs on a lead everywhere but the gift shop; Wiggins runs two fields and a pre-cut lot and grows trees from two feet up; Marsh Creek at Elverson has five species over two hundred acres; and Schmidt’s at Landenberg is open seven days with four firs, a blue spruce and two live reindeer. Eight more farms exist in the county and publish nothing we could read.

When do Chester County Christmas tree farms open in 2026?

Three farms have a 2026 date, and all three open on Saturday 21 November 2026. Westlake says “2026 TREEdition Season Dates: November 21 – December 19, 2026” and opens Thursday to Sunday, 9 to 5. Old Stone opens 21 and 22 November, closes for Thanksgiving week, and reopens on Friday 27 November daily until the trees are sold out. Clark’s is the third: its website gives a rule rather than a date — it opens the weekend before Thanksgiving — so we wrote to ask, and the farm replied on 29 October that it opens Saturday 21 November. Two farms still publish only a rule: Wiggins opens on “Black Friday”, which is 27 November, and Schmidt’s on the Friday after Thanksgiving, which is the same day — but those two dates are our arithmetic from their rules, not dates they have given. Only Marsh Creek still shows an older season, the 2025 one. Ring that one.

How much is a Christmas tree in Chester County?

Chester publishes more real prices than Lancaster and York together. Westlake charges by the foot and the rate depends on the field: Canaan fir is $18 a foot cut from a first-year harvest field, $12 a foot from a final harvest field, and $16 a foot fresh pre-cut; Concolor fir is $12. Old Stone charges a flat $100 for a pre-cut tree or one you cut yourself, though it does not say whether that figure is per tree or per foot. Clark’s charges by the foot and varies the rate by species, but when we asked for the figures the farm told us there were too many to list and it would rather not — so that one is a phone call, not a gap. The other three publish nothing. For comparison, Brown’s in York is $84 for any field tree whatever its size, and our what a tree costs page collects every real list we hold.

Why does Westlake charge $12 and $18 a foot for the same tree?

Because of which field it comes out of, and it is the clearest example on the site of something most farms never explain. A first-year harvest field is being cut for the first time, so every tree in it has had its full growth shaped for this season — that is the $18 Canaan fir. A final harvest field is being cleared, so what stands in it is what nobody chose in earlier years — that is the $12 Canaan fir, a third less for the same species. On a 7 ft tree the difference is $126 against $84. The farm also rates its own availability, and the cheap field is the one marked “good” where the others read “excellent”, so if you are going for the $12 field, go early.

Is Chester County or Lancaster County better for cutting your own tree?

Lancaster still has more farms — nine against six — and it has the tagging tradition, with free tagging from 1 October at one farm and 31 October at another, which Chester does not do at all. Lancaster is the better trip if you want to claim a tree weeks early or to choose between eleven species. Chester is better on price and on honesty about price: two farms here print 2026 figures, three say how they charge, and one of them explains why the same species costs two different amounts. Chester also has the only farm in either county open seven days a week, Clark’s, and the only trees sold as small as two feet, at Wiggins. The two counties are next door to each other, so you can have both.

Can I bring my dog?

Clark’s is the only one of the six that gives a policy, and the farm set out its terms to us on 29 October: dogs must be on a lead, aggressive dogs are not welcome, and no dog goes into the gift shop — which is worth knowing, because the shop is 3,000 sq ft of the visit and somebody will be waiting outside with the dog. The other five Chester farms say nothing either way. Ring first if it matters.

Which Chester County farm is open on a weekday?

Four of the six, and they are not equally convenient. Clark’s is open Monday to Sunday all season, though weekdays start at 1pm, and it recommends them: “It is much less crowded during the week!” Schmidt’s is also open seven days, from noon on weekdays and from 8am at the weekend. Old Stone is open daily, 8am to 4pm, once Thanksgiving week is past. Westlake counts Thursday as a weekday and is shut Monday to Wednesday. Wiggins’ two fields are weekends only, but its pre-cut lot on West Chester Pike is open until 9pm six days a week, which is the latest anything in the county trades.

How these were checked

Every listing above was read on the farm’s own website, and each card carries the date it was last read. Two of the six Chester County farms have published a 2026 season with the year on it — Westlake and Old Stone — and both of those publish prices too, which no York County farm does. Three more publish a standing rule instead of a date, and where we have worked a date out from a rule the card says plainly that the arithmetic is ours and not the farm’s. Only Marsh Creek still shows an older season — its site carries the 2025 one — and that is printed here with the year attached rather than passed off as this year’s. Where a farm names its species or its sizes on a page with no year, that goes up: what a farm grows changes far more slowly than when it opens.

One farm the directories list as choose-and-cut is a landscaping business, and it is named above with what it actually is. Dates and prices change: ring the farm before you set off, and if something here has gone stale, say so and it gets fixed.

Also on pickinghours