19 choose-and-cut farms from Grand Rapids and Holland to Ann Arbor, Detroit and Lansing. 15 have posted 2026 dates — the first open on 20 Nov — and the ones still to post say so on their cards.
Farms with 2026 dates
15
First to open
20 Nov
Farms listed
19
Last checked
17 Oct
Christmas tree farms in Michigan: 2026 dates
All 19, soonest first. 15 have posted 2026 dates; the last
4 are here because people look for them by name, and say what is missing.
Addison-Oaks Christmas Tree Farm in northern Oakland County opens on Thanksgiving morning, 9am to noon. Most other farms say plainly they are closed that day.
Grand Rapids and West Michigan · 7 farms, 6 with 2026 dates — Kent and Ottawa counties
Prince Trees
Zeeland, MI · Ottawa County · and West Olive
Two farms near Holland with the cheapest U-cut we have found: pine $16 and spruce $20, any height. A few Fraser fir to cut at West Olive, $29 up to 6 ft, and pre-cut fir from $42.
2026 season20 Nov – about 22 Dec
OctNovDec
West OliveU-cut from Fri 20 Novgreens and decor from Thu 12 Nov
Concolor and Fraser fir from $80 and white pine at $50, with saws provided, on the west edge of Grand Rapids. Open every day from 21 November, afternoons in the week.
2026 season21 Nov – last day not posted
OctNovDec
OpensSat 21 Nov“We open for the season on Saturday, November 21, 2026”
HoursMon–Fri 3–5:30pm, Sat–Sun 9am–5:30pmWed before Thanksgiving noon–5:30; closed Thanksgiving Day
PriceFir from $80, white pine $50no year given
What’s there
Concolor fir
Fraser fir
White pine
Saws provided
Practical
Dogsnot stated
Paymentcash, cheque, cards (2.6% card fee)
Before you set offThe tree page doesn’t say which species you cut yourself; blue spruce is marked sold out.
Choose-and-cut west of Grand Rapids, with pre-cut trees in the barn, and a Santa cabin and horse-drawn wagon ($12 a person) on the opening weekends. Dog friendly.
2026 season21 Nov – 19 Dec
OctNovDec
OpensSat 21 Novcloses Sat 19 Dec
HoursMon–Fri 1pm–dark, Sat 9am–darkclosed Sundays and Thanksgiving; Fri 27 Nov 9am–dark
Tree pricesnot publishedin the farm’s 2026 price-list PDF
Just north of Grand Rapids. Opening weekend 21–22 November, then afternoons in the week and all day at weekends, with Santa on Black Friday and weekends. Table-top trees with a stand $35.
2026 season21 Nov – last day not posted
OctNovDec
OpensSat 21 Nov10am–6pm; closed Thanksgiving; Black Friday 10–6
HoursMon–Fri 3–6pm, Sat–Sun 10am–6pmSanta 11–3 at weekends
PriceU-cut 3 ft and under $40taller trees not priced on the page; no year given
What’s there
Choose and cut
Table-top trees
Santa
Practical
Dogs“We welcome all dogs on a leash”
Paymentcards, Apple Pay, Google Pay, PayPal
Before you set offThe dates carry no year, but the site is dated 2026 and Black Friday on 27 November fits only this season.
Concolor, Fraser and grand fir and Norway and Serbian spruce, priced by height from $50 to $100, with drilling, shaking and baling free. Hand saws provided; no chainsaws.
2026 season21 Nov – 13 Dec
OctNovDec
Early birdSat 21 & Sun 22 Nov10am–dusk
Then27–29 Nov, then Dec weekends and weekday afternoonslast day Sun 13 Dec
Price$50–$100under 5 ft $50 up to 9 ft $100; nothing over 10 ft this year; no year given
Ann Arbor and Jackson · 5 farms, 3 with 2026 dates — Washtenaw and Jackson counties
Urquhart’s Tree Farm
Chelsea, MI · Washtenaw County
West of Ann Arbor, with tall Fraser firs at a satellite field on Jackson Road. Staffed Friday to Sunday, and self-serve on the other days right up to Christmas. U-cut $99 up to 7 ft, then $13.50 a foot; pre-cut from $59. Gas or battery saws are allowed.
2026 season21 Nov – 25 Dec
OctNovDec
Main farmFrom Sat 21 Novstaffed Fri–Sun 10am–5pm; self-serve Mon–Thu
Satellite fieldFrom Fri 27 Nov10011 Jackson Rd, Dexter
Price$99 to 7 ft, $13.50/ft overplus tax, shaking and wrapping included; no year given
What’s there
Fraser fir
Self-serve days
Pre-cut from $59
Free bow saws
Own saws allowed
Practical
Dogs“Yes! We love dogs” — on a leash
Paymentcash, cheque, all cards, Apple Pay
Before you set offThe hours page is headed 2026 but gives the last staffed day as “December 13th, 2025” — almost certainly a slip for 13 December this year.
Seven trees to cut, including Black Hills and Serbian spruce and Korean fir: firs $12 a foot, spruces $10, with yellow-tagged sale trees cheaper. Weekends only, 10 to 5. Borrow a saw.
2026 season21 Nov – 20 Dec
OctNovDec
OpensSat 21 Nov“Our first day open will be Saturday November 21st”
OpenWeekends to 20 Dec, plus Fri 27 Nov10am–5pm
PriceFir $12/ft, spruce $10/ftsale trees $6–$10/ft; no year given
What’s there
Canaan fir
Balsam fir
Concolor fir
Korean fir
Colorado blue spruce
Black Hills spruce
Serbian spruce
Sale trees
Saws to borrow
Practical
Dogsnot stated
Paymentcash or cheque only — ATM on site
Before you set offThe opening line has no year, but it sits on the site’s 2026 pages and Saturday 21 November fits this season.
One of the oldest farms in southern Michigan, since 1939, on two sites. One price for any size you cut: $75 for Fraser or Canaan fir, $65 for Douglas. Fraser at Grass Lake, Canaan at Brooklyn, and big Frasers 9 ft and up.
2026 season21 Nov – last day not posted
OctNovDec
Early salesSat 21 & Sun 22 Nov9am–5pm at both, no wagon rides
Full seasonFrom Fri 27 Novhours not posted yet
PriceFir $75, Douglas $65, any sizeplus tax; pre-cut from $10; no year given
What’s there
Fraser fir (Grass Lake)
Canaan fir (Brooklyn)
Douglas fir
Large Frasers 9 ft+
Pre-cut
Wagon rides
Practical
Dogsnot stated
Paymentnot stated
Contact
Where3512 Notten Rd, Grass Lake, MI 49240 · and 12101 Monroe Pike, Brooklyn, MI 49230
The choose-and-cut closest to Ann Arbor itself. Firs $8 a foot, spruces $6, white pine $25, pre-cut Douglas, Fraser and concolor, and very dog friendly.
2026 datesnot published“Opens Friday after Thanksgiving”, no year
HoursFri–Sun 10am until dark
PriceFir $8/ft, spruce $6/ftwhite pine $25; no year given
What’s there
Douglas fir
Fraser fir
Balsam fir
Canaan fir
Concolor fir
Spruce
White pine
Pre-cut
Practical
Dogs“very dog-friendly!”
Paymentnot stated
Before you set offCheck before you drive out. The farm’s website no longer loads, from two different connections, and it publishes no telephone number, so we have no way to ask whether it is opening this year. Everything on this card was read from that website while it was still up, and none of it has been confirmed for 2026. If you live near Warren Road and know one way or the other, tell us and we will fix it the same day.
Metro Detroit and Flint · 4 farms, 4 with 2026 dates — Oakland, Macomb and Genesee counties
Blake’s Orchard & Cider Mill
Armada, MI · Macomb County
Seven species on a hundred acres, reached by wagon, from $64.95 for a Scotch pine of any size up to $249.95 for a Fraser over 12 ft — shaking, baling and drilling included. Among the first in the state to open, on 20 November. Pre-cut trees at its Almont and Lyon Township sites too, but the cutting is here.
2026 season20 Nov – last day not posted
OctNovDec
OpensFri 20 Nov 2026“Opening Friday, November 20, 2026”
HoursMon–Fri 9am–5pm, Sat–Sun 8am–5pmu-cut, at Armada
Price$64.95 to $249.95by species and height; 6 ft and under pay the full list price
Mon–Thu10% off any treeand a free hot cider with every tree
What’s there
Fraser fir
Concolor fir
Blue spruce
Douglas fir
Scotch pine
White pine
Balsam fir
Wagon to the field
Shaking, baling and drilling free
Prices, published by the farm
Scotch pine, all sizes$64.95
Douglas fir, all sizes$74.95
White pine, all sizes$79.95
Blue spruce, 6–8 ft$79.95
Balsam fir, 6–8 ft$99.95
Concolor fir, 6–8 ft$99.95
Concolor fir, 8–9 ft$114.95
Blue spruce, 8–10 ft$99.95
Blue spruce, 10 ft+$125
Fraser fir, 6–8 ft$99.95
Fraser fir, 8–9 ft$114.95
Fraser fir, 9–10 ft$149.95
Fraser fir, 10–12 ft$189.95
Fraser fir, 12 ft+$249.95
Practical
Dogsno pets — and no cars either
Paymentnot stated
Worth knowingCutting happens at one site only: the Orchard & Cider Mill on Armada Center Road. The Almont and Lyon Township sites sell pre-cut trees and keep their own hours. Monday to Thursday brings 10% off any tree at all three, a free hot cider with each tree, and a free appetiser with a $20 dine-in spend at the taprooms.
Before you set offYou cannot drive to the trees and you cannot bring a dog. Collect a free saw at the Apple Barn, then ride a wagon out to the fields — wagon access only, no cars and no pets. Staff tag your tree and bring it up separately, and shaking, baling and drilling are all free. You pay and collect at the Tree Lot.
Every tree grown on the farm, never sprayed, and cleaned and trimmed for you free. Weekends only — plus Thanksgiving morning and Black Friday. Ring to reserve a tree.
2026 season21 Nov – 20 Dec
OctNovDec
OpensSat 21 Novweekends 9am–5pm, closed weekdays
ThanksgivingThu 26 Nov, 9am–noonand Fri 27 Nov 9am–5pm
Last daySun 20 Dec
Tree pricesnot published
What’s there
Grown on the farm
Free cleaning and trimming
Reserve by phone
Practical
Dogsnot stated
Paymentnot stated
Before you set offThe site gives no street address — ring for directions.
Contact
WhereOakland Township, MI · between Bald Mountain and Addison Oaks parks
Sixteen acres of Fraser, concolor and Korean fir to 12 ft, every tree price-tagged where it stands, trimmed deliberately loose so ornaments hang clear. The wreaths have won Grand Champion from the state growers’ association more than once.
2026 season21 Nov – last day not posted
OctNovDec
OpensSat 21 Nov 2026“We are getting ready to open Saturday, November 21, 2026”
Opening weekends21–22 and 27–29 Nov9am–5pm
Thanksgiving weekTue and Wed noon–5pmThanksgiving Day 9am–1pm; closed Mondays
PriceAbout $18 a foot at the top“with many priced much less”; no year given
What’s there
Fraser fir
Concolor fir
Korean fir
Spruce
Scotch pine
6 to 12 ft
Priced in the field
Santa, first two weekends
Practical
Dogson a lead, and clean up after them
Paymentall major credit cards
Worth knowingShaking, wrapping, bottom-trimming and drilling are all in the price of the tree, along with a saw, a cart and string for the car. The farm sells a pin stand that takes a drilled tree in under a minute. Photographers may bring clients only before the season opens, at $75 an hour, and all 2026 sessions end on 20 November.
Before you set offGo in the first fortnight. The farm publishes hours only to 29 November and then says to “check for availability” — it does not promise stock after that. Note also that they ask you to text rather than ring on 248-628-8899, because nobody can answer the phone while serving customers in the field.
Canaan and concolor fir and blue, Norway and Serbian spruce, with bow saws, baling, drilling and shaking, and wreaths. They can’t tie the tree on for you.
2026 season27 Nov – 17 Dec
OctNovDec
OpensFri 27 Nov“2026 schedule”, 10am–4:30pm
HoursWed–Fri 1–4:30pm, Sat–Sun 10am–4:30pmto Thu 17 Dec
Lansing · 3 farms, 2 with 2026 dates — Ingham County
Star Tree Farm
Mason, MI · Ingham County
Blue and Black Hills spruce, Canaan and concolor fir and Scotch and white pine, priced by height whatever the species: $65 under 6 ft, $75 to 8 ft, $90 to 10 ft. Pre-cut $60. Wreaths.
2026 season21 Nov – last day not posted
OctNovDec
OpensSat 21 Nov“Opening Weekend: November 21, 2026”, 9am–6pm
Fraser and concolor fir, spruce, and white and Scotch pine from 6 to 14 ft, with the farm’s saws. Every available tree is pre-tagged with its price: firs $9 to $11 a foot for 2026.
Eight varieties beside Huntoon Lake, from $45, and almost everything thrown in: hand saws, carts, sleds, the shaker, the baler and the twine. Mike and Ann D’Lamater have been planting here since 1986. Cash only, and no dogs.
OpensThe Friday after ThanksgivingFri 27 Nov 2026 by that rule — our arithmetic, not their date
Early salesThe Sunday before, “most years”Sun 22 Nov 2026 by that rule, 10am–5pm
HoursMon–Thu noon–5:30pm, Fri–Sun 10am–5:30pm
Price$45 and upplus $10 a foot for trees 8 to 9 ft; 2026
Closing datenot publishedthe farm will not name one — ring and ask
What’s there
Fralsam fir
Canaan fir
Douglas fir
Concolor fir
Fraser fir
Balsam fir
Blue spruce
White pine
Hand saws free
Practical
Dogsno dogs
Paymentcash only
Worth knowingFree here, and charged for almost everywhere else: hand saws, tree carts, sleds, the machine shaker, netting on the baler and twine for the car, plus drilling if you buy their pin stand. Barn trees cost the same as cut-your-own, and nothing is cut before Thanksgiving — as one sells, another comes down.
Before you set offThree firm rules. No chainsaws or battery saws, which the farm puts down to its insurance; hand saws are provided. No dogs — a recent change, after trees were returned and staff were lunged at. And cash only. They also say plainly that they do not read Facebook, so the telephone is the only way to reach them.
Read on their own sites on 17 Oct 2026. None has published a usable 2026 season yet, so none is
carrying last year’s dates here as though they were this year’s.
Windy Hill Tree Farm, Clio — “will open Friday, November 27th”, no year, on a site dated 2025.
Rainbow’s End, Stanton — “Opening Nov. 27th”, no year. Firs $9.50 a foot.
Church’s Tree Farm, Grant — “Nov 22nd through Dec 22nd”, no year.
The Old Grove, Caledonia — 2025 opening still up.
Janke Tree Farm, Allegan — 2025 dates; firs from $69 last season.
Leber Christmas Tree Farm, Allegan — dates on its Facebook page only. Cash or cheque.
Montague Tree Farms, Montague — 2025 closing notice.
Wahmhoff Farms, Gobles — 2024 and 2025 dates.
Schmuckal Christmas Tree Farms, Kingsley — 2025 only.
Stanczyk Tree Farm, Holly — open weekends and Fri 27 Nov, but no opening date.
Broadview Christmas Tree Farm, Highland — no tree dates yet, but the farm is active: its wreath-decorating classes are advertised for 12 and 18 November 2026, $50 a head including a 16-inch Fraser fir wreath. Trees November to December, weddings May to October. We have asked them for an opening date. broadviewchristmastreefarm@yahoo.com
Hodgson Tree Farm, Clarkston — 2025 dates.
Huron Christmas Tree Farm, Huron Township — no dates; cash or cheque only.
Matthes Tree Farm, Ida — “from Thanksgiving until Christmas”, no year.
Hunt 4 Your Fir, North Branch — opens the Sunday before Thanksgiving every year; $60 any tree.
Evergreen Timbers, Reading — dates that fit 2025.
Listings you will find elsewhere that are wrong
Anna Lovisa in Bath and Three Cedars in Northville have both posted 2026 dates, but neither site says you can cut your own tree, so they aren’t listed above.
Evergreens of Oxford is closed for low inventory, Petiprin’s in Swartz Creek closed for 2025 to replant, and Hart Tree Farm in Rockford hasn’t sold Christmas trees since 2021.
The web addresses listed for Trim Pines in Holly and Wilson’s Tannenbaum in Marshall now belong to unrelated sites. Neither is linked.
Michigan Christmas tree farm questions
When do Christmas tree farms open in Michigan?
Prince Trees at West Olive and KP Tree & Nursery in Zeeland open on Friday 20 November 2026, and nine more on Saturday 21 November, including Vormittag in Grand Rapids, Bosch's in Allendale, Urquhart's in Chelsea, Hillside in Manchester, Addison-Oaks in Oakland Township and Star Tree Farm in Mason. The rest open on Friday 27 November, the day after Thanksgiving.
Where can I cut my own Christmas tree near Grand Rapids?
Vormittag on the west side of the city, Lenderink in Belmont to the north, Bosch's in Allendale and R A Farms in Nunica to the west, all from 21 November; Prince Trees and KP Tree & Nursery near Zeeland from 20 November. Postema in Alto hasn't posted 2026 dates yet.
Where can I cut a Christmas tree near Ann Arbor?
Urquhart's in Chelsea and Hillside in Manchester open on 21 November, and Arend Tree Farms at Grass Lake and Brooklyn has early sales the same weekend. Braun's on Warren Road, closest to the city, and Westman's in Dexter haven't posted 2026 dates yet.
How much does a Christmas tree cost in Michigan?
Prince Trees charges $16 for any pine and $20 for any spruce, KP Tree & Nursery $70 for any Fraser fir (its 2026 price), and Arend $65 to $75 for any size. Tannenbaum's 2026 prices are $9 to $11 a foot for fir. Star Tree Farm charges $65 to $90 by height whatever the species.
Can I bring my dog to a Michigan Christmas tree farm?
At several. Dogs are welcome at Bosch's, Lenderink and Prince Trees on a leash, and Urquhart's says "we love dogs". Blake's doesn't allow pets. Many farms don't say, so ring first.
How these were checked
About a hundred Michigan listings were read on each farm’s own website on 17 Oct 2026. A 2026 date appears only where the farm itself has posted it, and every one was checked against the 2026 calendar: Thanksgiving is Thursday 26 November this year, so “Friday, November 28” is last season. Where a farm’s own pages disagree with each other, the card says so.
The Michigan Christmas Tree Association’s locator and news roundups were used only to find farms, never for a date or a price. Spot something that has gone stale? Say so and it gets fixed.
Also on pickinghours
Christmas tree farms in Michigan19 farms · you are here