pickinghours

Christmas tree farms in Virginia

15 choose-and-cut farms, from Loudoun and Clarke down through the Piedmont to Richmond. 11 have posted 2026 dates — the first open on 21 Nov — and the ones still to post say so on their cards.

Farms with 2026 dates
11
First to open
21 Nov
Farms listed
15
Last checked
29 Oct

Christmas tree farms in Virginia: 2026 dates

All 15, soonest first. 11 have posted 2026 dates; the last 4 are here because people look for them by name, and say what is missing.

  1. 21 Nov2026Donner Farms VirginiaPurcellville · Loudoun CountyNorway spruce, white pine, Canaanfrom $100
  2. 21 Nov2026Firever PinesRuther Glen · Caroline CountyCanaan, Blue Ice, Leyland, white pineno price published
  3. 21 Nov2026Moose Apple Christmas Tree FarmBerryville · Clarke CountyCanaan, concolor, Norway spruce$150 any tree
  4. 21 Nov2026Woods Tree FarmAmelia Court House · Amelia Countycypress, Scotch pine, Canaan, Norway spruce$85–$149
  5. 27 Nov2026Evergreen AcresNokesville · Prince William Countywhite pine, Norway spruce$110–$160
  6. 27 Nov2026Haven Wood FarmBerryville · Clarke CountyDouglas, Canaan, concolor, two spruces$149 any tree
  7. 27 Nov2026Loudoun NurseryPurcellville · Loudoun CountyNorway & Meyer spruce, Canaan, Nordmann$100 any tree
  8. 27 Nov2026Nuckols Christmas Tree FarmCumberland · Cumberland Countywhite pine, Norway spruce, cypressno price published
  9. 27 Nov2026Oak Shade FarmRixeyville · Culpeper CountyWhite pine, Norway spruce, Fraser$83–$198
  10. 27 Nov2026Snickers Gap Tree FarmRound Hill · Loudoun CountyDouglas fir, blue spruceno price published
  11. 27 Nov2026Spruce Rock FarmBrightwood · Madison Countyfour to cut, two pre-cutno price published
  12. tbcStribling Trees at Oldacre’s FarmMarkham · Fauquier CountyFraser, Norway spruce, white pine$75–$100
  13. tbcHartland Farm — Hank’s Christmas TreesMarkham · Fauquier CountyFraser, Douglas, blue spruce, white pine, two cypress$70 any size
  14. tbcChilly Hollow Christmas Tree FarmBerryville · Clarke Countyspecies not named$50–$80
  15. tbcOlde Church Christmas Tree FarmPowhatan · Powhatan Countyspecies not namedno price published

First to open

Four farms open on Saturday 21 November: Donner Farms Virginia and Moose Apple Christmas Tree Farm in Northern Virginia, Woods Tree Farm and Firever Pines near Richmond. Snickers Gap Tree Farm, Spruce Rock Farm and the rest open on the Friday after Thanksgiving, 27 November, and Oak Shade Farm keeps going to Christmas Eve, which nothing else here does.

Book ahead at these

Haven Wood Farm is by appointment, Moose Apple Christmas Tree Farm and Woods Tree Farm take cutting reservations with a $50 deposit, and Donner Farms Virginia asks you to get in touch before a weekday visit. Spruce Rock Farm takes walk-ins but “highly encourages” booking, and Chilly Hollow Christmas Tree Farm sells most of its trees by appointment in October, before the season opens at all.

Northern Virginia · 8 farms, 6 with 2026 dates — Loudoun, Clarke, Fauquier and Prince William counties

Donner Farms Virginia

Purcellville, VA · Loudoun County

Norway spruce, white pine, Canaan fir and a few blue spruce and red cedar, with early sales the weekend before Thanksgiving. Field trees from $100, and tall pre-cut balsam from Canada.

2026 season21 Nov – last day not posted
OctNovDec
  • Early salesSat 21 & Sun 22 Nov“November 21 and 22, 2026”
  • ThenFrom the Friday after Thanksgivingweekends, and Tue–Thu by appointment
  • PriceField trees from $100pre-cut balsam 9–14 ft from $195; no year given

What’s there

  • Norway spruce
  • White pine
  • Canaan fir
  • Blue spruce
  • Red cedar
  • Pre-cut balsam

Practical

  • Dogsno dogs on the property
  • PaymentVisa, Mastercard, cheque, cash

Before you set offThe FAQ page still lists last season’s dates; the home page has 2026’s. Contact the farm before a weekday visit.

Contact

Checked 17 Oct 2026

Moose Apple Christmas Tree Farm

Berryville, VA · Clarke County

Canaan and concolor fir and Norway spruce at $150 for any field tree, cut by reservation ($50, counted towards the tree) on thirteen days. Tagging opened on 10 October. Pre-cut Fraser and concolor 6–8 ft need no booking.

2026 season21 Nov – 13 Dec
OctNovDec
  • Cutting21–22, 27–29 Nov; 3–6, 10–13 Dec10am–4pm, by reservation
  • TaggingOpened Sat 10 Oct
  • Price$150 any field tree$50 deposit included; no year given

What’s there

  • Canaan fir
  • Concolor fir
  • Norway spruce
  • Pre-cut Fraser and concolor
  • Pre-order 9–12 ft

Practical

  • Dogsno pets on the farm
  • Paymentcards, Apple Pay, cheque, cash

Before you set offParts of the site still carry 2025 notices; the 2026 dates are on its home page.

Contact

Checked 17 Oct 2026

Snickers Gap Tree Farm

Round Hill, VA · Loudoun County

Mountain-grown Douglas fir and Colorado blue spruce on the Blue Ridge above Bluemont, the farm Northern Virginia searches for by name. A saw is provided, shaking and baling are included, and trees up to 7 ft are one price.

2026 season27 Nov – last day not posted
OctNovDec
  • OpensFri 27 Nov, 9am“We open for tree sales in 2026 on Friday, November 27th”
  • HoursMon–Fri 1–5pm, Sat–Sun 9am–5pmThanksgiving weekend 9–5 daily
  • Tree pricesnot published“come back later” on the price page

What’s there

  • Douglas fir
  • Colorado blue spruce
  • Saw provided
  • Shaking and baling included

Practical

  • Dogsno pets on the farm
  • Paymentcash, Apple and Google Pay, all major cards

Before you set offChainsaws, reciprocating saws, hatchets and axes are all banned.

Contact

Checked 17 Oct 2026

Haven Wood Farm

Berryville, VA · Clarke County

Douglas, Canaan and concolor fir and Black Hills and Norway spruce, $149 for any tree of any size, with 10% off for veterans, military and first responders. By appointment, on seven days only.

2026 season27 Nov – 13 Dec
OctNovDec
  • Open days27–29 Nov, 5–6 & 12–13 Dec, 20269am–4pm
  • BookingAppointment requiredbook on the farm’s site
  • Price$149 any tree2026

What’s there

  • Douglas fir
  • Canaan fir
  • Concolor fir
  • Black Hills spruce
  • Norway spruce

Practical

  • Dogsleashed dogs allowed
  • Paymentnot stated

Worth knowingNo phone listed — the farm’s contact is erik@havenwoodfarm.com.

Contact

Checked 17 Oct 2026

Evergreen Acres

Nokesville, VA · Prince William County

Its 36th and final season — “we will not be open next year”. White pine $110 and Norway spruce $160, tax included, with clearance pines from $40. No pre-cut trees and no admission fee.

2026 season27 Nov – 20 Dec
OctNovDec
  • Open27 Nov – 20 Decmostly 8am–4:30pm; some weekdays 1–4:30
  • PriceWhite pine $110, Norway spruce $1602026, tax included; clearance pine $40–$80

What’s there

  • White pine
  • Norway spruce
  • No admission fee
  • Final season

Practical

  • Dogsleashed dogs welcome
  • Paymentcash or card

Contact

Checked 17 Oct 2026

Loudoun Nursery

Purcellville, VA · Loudoun County

Any tree, any size, $100 — Norway and Meyer spruce, Canaan, Nordmann and concolor fir, blue spruce. Plenty at 5 to 7 ft, few above 8. No appointment needed.

2026 season27 Nov – weekends to Christmas
OctNovDec
  • OpensThanksgiving Friday2026 availability page; 9am–4pm
  • ThenWeekends before Christmas
  • Price$100 any tree2026

What’s there

  • Norway spruce
  • Meyer spruce
  • Canaan fir
  • Nordmann fir
  • Concolor fir
  • Blue spruce

Practical

  • Dogswelcome on a leash
  • Paymentnot stated

Before you set offThe page gives “Thanksgiving Friday” rather than a date, and one heading on it reads “2027” by mistake — everything else is labelled 2026.

Contact

Checked 17 Oct 2026

Stribling Trees at Oldacre’s Farm

Markham, VA · Fauquier County

Fraser fir and Norway spruce at $100 and white pine at $75, on the Blue Ridge off I-66.

  • 2026 datesnot publishedthe site still shows last season’s closing day; we have asked the farm
  • PriceFraser & Norway $100, white pine $75no year given

What’s there

  • Fraser fir
  • Norway spruce
  • White pine

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • Paymentcredit cards accepted

Contact

Checked 30 Oct 2026

Hartland Farm — Hank’s Christmas Trees

Markham, VA · Fauquier County

$70 for any size you cut yourself, whatever its height, with six species in the field, free saws, sleds and tie-down straps, and evening train rides at the weekend. Pre-cut Fraser firs are priced by height instead.

  • 2026 datesnot publishedthe farm’s “November 29” was Thanksgiving Friday in 2024, not this year
  • Choose and cut$70 any sizeno year given
  • Pre-cut Fraser fir$100 to $230by height; no year given
  • Train ridesFri–Sat, 5–8pma private car is $89 for about seven adults

What’s there

  • Fraser fir
  • Douglas fir
  • Blue spruce
  • White pine
  • Leyland cypress
  • Blue Ice cypress
  • Saws, sleds and straps free
  • Evening train rides

Practical

  • Dogsno dogs, documented service dogs excepted
  • Paymentdebit and credit cards

Worth knowingThe six species are what the farm grows across the whole site; its pre-cut Frasers are hand selected for height and variety and priced separately, so the $70 flat rate is for what you cut yourself. Gloves, saws, sleds and tie-down straps all come free.

Before you set offRing before you set off. Everything on this card comes from the farm’s own website, but its opening date is two years old: it advertises “open daily starting November 29” as the Friday after Thanksgiving, which it was in 2024. In 2026 the 29th is a Sunday. The prices and the species are the most recent the farm has published, and the dates are not.

Contact

Checked 30 Oct 2026

Richmond and around · 7 farms, 5 with 2026 dates — Amelia, Cumberland, Caroline and Powhatan counties

Woods Tree Farm

Amelia Court House, VA · Amelia County

Southern trees to cut — Leyland and Murray cypress, Carolina Sapphire, Scotch pine — plus Canaan fir and Norway spruce, by reservation, and pre-cut Fraser fir without one. Most 6–7 ft trees from $85, up to $149. Private fire pits and wreath classes.

2026 season21 Nov – 13 Dec
OctNovDec
  • OpensSat 21 Nov21–25 Nov, closed Thanksgiving, 27–29 Nov, Dec weekends to 13th
  • Hours10am–5pm
  • PriceFrom $85, top $149$50 deposit to reserve, counted towards the tree; no year given

What’s there

  • Leyland cypress
  • Murray cypress
  • Carolina Sapphire
  • Scotch pine
  • Canaan fir
  • Norway spruce
  • Pre-cut Fraser
  • Fire pits
  • Wreath classes

Practical

  • Dogsleashed (6 ft, non-retractable); not in the pre-cut lot
  • Paymentnot stated

Before you set offCut-your-own is by reservation only and there is no early tagging. The farm suggests cutting Norway spruce after 5 December.

Contact

Checked 17 Oct 2026

Firever Pines

Ruther Glen, VA · Caroline County

Halfway between Richmond and Fredericksburg. Canaan fir, Blue Ice and Leyland cypress and white pine to cut, and pre-cut Fraser and concolor from the family’s Pennsylvania farm. No card fees.

2026 season21 Nov – 20 Dec
OctNovDec
  • OpensSat 21 Nov“Opening Day (11/21/2026)”
  • HoursFri 12–5pm, Sat–Sun 9am–5pmanticipated last day 20 Dec
  • Tree pricesnot published

What’s there

  • Canaan fir
  • Blue Ice cypress
  • Leyland cypress
  • White pine
  • Pre-cut Fraser and concolor

Practical

  • Dogsdog friendly, on a leash
  • Paymentcards with no fee, cash, cheque

Contact

Checked 17 Oct 2026

Spruce Rock Farm

Brightwood, VA · Madison County

Four species to cut and two more pre-cut, nine open days, and the widest range of ways to pay of any farm on this page — cash, cheques, debit, credit and phone apps. Walk-ins are taken but the farm would much rather you booked.

2026 season27 Nov – 20 Dec
OctNovDec
  • OpensFri 27 Nov, 10am–4pm“11/27, 11/28, 11/29” of 2026
  • ThenWeekends only5–6, 12–13 and 19–20 Dec, 10am–4pm
  • BookingWalk-ins taken“we highly encourage booking an appointment”
  • Cut your ownFour speciesNorway, blue and white spruce, and Canaan fir
  • Pre-cutFraser and concolor fir
  • Tree pricesnot publishednot published — ring 540-543-2309

What’s there

  • Norway spruce
  • Blue spruce
  • White spruce
  • Canaan fir
  • Pre-cut Fraser fir
  • Pre-cut concolor fir
  • Wreaths
  • Booking encouraged

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • Paymentcash, cheques, debit, credit and phone apps

Before you set offThe farm’s own pages carry two sets of dates — an older block for 2025 and the 2026 list used here. The 2026 one is the live one: its weekdays fit this year and it runs to 20 December. If in doubt, ring before you set off.

Contact

Checked 29 Oct 2026

Oak Shade Farm

Rixeyville, VA · Culpeper County

The longest season in Virginia — the day after Thanksgiving right through to Christmas Eve, five days a week — and a full published price list, which almost nothing else in the state has. Culpeper Chamber of Commerce’s 2026 Agribusiness of the Year.

2026 season27 Nov – 24 Dec
OctNovDec
  • OpensFri 27 Nov 2026the farm’s own date, by email on 30 October
  • Runs to24 DecemberChristmas Eve, confirmed by the farm
  • Open daysWed–Sun, 9am–5pmclosed Monday and Tuesday
  • Fraser fir$98 to $198by height, 6–7 ft up to 9–10 ft
  • White pine$83Norway spruce $93
  • Table tops$47the cheapest small tree in Virginia

What’s there

  • White pine
  • Norway spruce
  • Fraser fir
  • Table-top trees
  • Garlands
  • Wreaths
  • Open to Christmas Eve
  • Full price list published

2026 prices, published by the farm

  • Table tops$47
  • White pine$83
  • Norway spruce$93
  • Fraser fir, 6–7 ft$98
  • Fraser fir, 7–8 ft$125
  • Fraser fir, 8–9 ft$163
  • Fraser fir, 9–10 ft$198
  • Garland, 8 ft$27
  • Garland, 10 ft$33
  • Wreath, 12 inch$47

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • Paymentnot stated

Worth knowingA season that runs to Christmas Eve is rare anywhere and unique in Virginia: every other farm on this page finishes by 20 December at the latest, and most are done by the middle of the month. If you are the sort who buys a tree the week of Christmas, this is the only farm in the state still open. The farm confirmed the whole season by email on 30 October.

Contact

Checked 30 Oct 2026

Nuckols Christmas Tree Farm

Cumberland, VA · Cumberland County

White pine, Norway spruce, Murray cypress and Carolina Sapphire to cut, west of Richmond, and pre-cut Fraser fir.

2026 season27 Nov – last day not posted
OctNovDec
  • OpensFri 27 Nov“Our opening day is Friday, November 27, 2026”
  • Hoursnot publisheddetails promised for October
  • Tree pricesnot published

What’s there

  • White pine
  • Norway spruce
  • Murray cypress
  • Carolina Sapphire
  • Pre-cut Fraser

Practical

  • Dogswell-behaved, leashed dogs welcome
  • Paymentcash, Visa, Mastercard, Discover, Amex; prefers no cheques

Contact

Checked 17 Oct 2026

Chilly Hollow Christmas Tree Farm

Berryville, VA · Clarke County

A farm that sells most of its trees before the season starts: buyers come out on an October weekend by appointment, pick and pay for a tree, then come back after Thanksgiving to harvest it. Those weekends have been and gone for 2026. $50 to $80 depending on species, and strictly cash.

  • Pre-selectionOver for 2026the farm’s weekends were 17–18 and 24–25 October
  • Public salesThe Saturday after ThanksgivingSat 28 Nov 2026 by that rule — our arithmetic, not their date
  • Price$50 to $80depending on species
  • PaymentCash only“we do NOT accept Credit or Debit cards!”
  • PayingOn selectionnot when you collect the tree

What’s there

  • Pre-selection by appointment
  • Cash only
  • $50 to $80
  • Harvest after Thanksgiving

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • Paymentcash only — no credit or debit cards

Before you set offThe pre-selection weekends are over for this year, and by the time the season opens the best trees are sold. This farm sells most of its crop in October, by appointment and “while supplies last”; what goes on sale after Thanksgiving is what is left. Come anyway if you are not fussy, but do not expect the pick of the field. It is also cash only and you pay when you choose, not when you collect. The farm publishes no street address — it says only “just east of Berryville” — so the address here comes from the growers’ listing and is worth confirming on 540-539-1307.

Contact

Checked 30 Oct 2026

Olde Church Christmas Tree Farm

Powhatan, VA · Powhatan County

The choose-and-cut closest to Richmond’s western suburbs. Leashed pets welcome.

  • 2026 datesnot published“We are closed for the 2025 season”

Practical

  • Dogsleashed pets welcome
  • Paymentnot stated

Contact

Checked 30 Oct 2026

Still to post their 2026 dates

Read on their own sites on 17 Oct 2026. None has published a usable 2026 season yet, so none is carrying last year’s dates here as though they were this year’s.

Listings you will find elsewhere that are wrong

Virginia Christmas tree farm questions

When do Christmas tree farms open in Virginia?

Donner Farms in Purcellville, Moose Apple in Berryville, Woods Tree Farm in Amelia and Firever Pines in Ruther Glen open on Saturday 21 November 2026. Snickers Gap, Haven Wood, Evergreen Acres, Loudoun Nursery, Nuckols and Spruce Rock open on Friday 27 November, the day after Thanksgiving. Oak Shade in Rixeyville opens the same day by its own standing rule and is the only farm in the state still open on Christmas Eve.

When does Snickers Gap Tree Farm open?

Friday 27 November 2026 at 9am. Thanksgiving weekend it is open 9 to 5 every day; after that weekdays 1 to 5 and weekends 9 to 5. It sells mountain-grown Douglas fir and Colorado blue spruce. No pets, and no chainsaws.

Where can I cut a Christmas tree near Richmond?

Woods Tree Farm in Amelia from 21 November, by reservation; Firever Pines in Ruther Glen, north toward Fredericksburg, also from 21 November; and Nuckols in Cumberland from 27 November. Olde Church in Powhatan hasn't posted 2026 dates yet.

How much does a Christmas tree cost in Virginia?

Between about $47 and $198, and the spread is mostly about species and size rather than about the farm. Oak Shade in Rixeyville publishes the fullest list in the state: $47 for a table-top tree, $83 for a white pine, $93 for a Norway spruce, and Fraser fir from $98 at 6 to 7 ft up to $198 at 9 to 10 ft. Chilly Hollow near Berryville is the cheapest, $50 to $80 depending on species, but it is cash only and sells most of its trees by appointment in October. Several Northern Virginia farms charge one price for any tree: Loudoun Nursery $100, Haven Wood $149, Moose Apple $150. Evergreen Acres is $110 for white pine and $160 for Norway spruce, tax included. Near Richmond, Woods Tree Farm runs from $85 for most 6 to 7 ft trees.

Can I bring my dog to a Virginia Christmas tree farm?

At some. Leashed dogs are welcome at Haven Wood, Evergreen Acres, Loudoun Nursery, Woods Tree Farm, Nuckols and Firever Pines. Snickers Gap, Donner Farms and Moose Apple don't allow pets, and Hartland Farm at Markham bans them from the market and the tree field. Spruce Rock, Oak Shade, Chilly Hollow and Stribling don't state a policy either way, so ring if it matters.

How these were checked

Every Virginia farm here was read on its own website, and each card carries the date it was last read. A 2026 date appears only where the farm itself has posted it, and every one was checked against the 2026 calendar: Thanksgiving is Thursday 26 November this year, so “Friday, November 28” is last season. Where a farm publishes a rule instead of a date — “the day after Thanksgiving”, “the Saturday after” — the card says plainly that the date is our arithmetic and not theirs.

The Virginia growers’ directory and news roundups were used only to find farms, never for a date or a price. Spot something that has gone stale? Say so and it gets fixed.

Also on pickinghours