pickinghours

Christmas tree farms in York County

4 farms that publish enough to plan around, from Dillsburg to Red Lion. One has now posted a 2026 date and the other three have not, so ring before you drive — but one of them sells any tree in the field, whatever its size, for a flat $84.

Farms listed
4
2026 dates posted
1
Any tree, any size
$84
Last checked
28 Oct

Christmas tree farms in York County: the 2026 position

All 4 we can list properly. Tap a name for hours, species and how to get in touch.

  1. 27 Nov2026McCurdy’s Tree FarmDillsburg · 25 min west of YorkEight varietiesno price published
  2. tbcBrown’s Tree FarmYork · 10 min north-east of the cityFraser, Canaan, Douglas$84, any field tree
  3. tbcHaring Tree FarmsGoldsboro · 30 min north-west of YorkFive species, namedno price published
  4. tbcFamily Tree FarmRed Lion · 20 min south-east of Yorknot statedno price published

One date posted, three to go

McCurdy’s in Dillsburg opens on Friday 27 November 2026 at 9am — the only York County farm to print this season’s date with the year on it, and it says plainly that there is no pre-tagging. Brown’s publishes a rule rather than a date (“the Saturday before Thanksgiving”, which would be 21 November), Haring still shows last year’s, and Family Tree Farm has changed hands. Ring the other three before you drive.

The one price in the county

Brown’s charges $84 plus tax for any field tree, whatever its size — a flat price, where almost every farm in America charges by height. For a tall tree that is the cheapest way to buy in Pennsylvania by a wide margin: at Hunt’s in Lancaster a 12–14 ft white pine is $300.

4 York County farms that publish enough to plan around

McCurdy’s Tree Farm

Dillsburg, PA · 25 min west of York

Almost a hundred acres of trees in northern York County, farmed by the same family since 1966 and by about eleven generations in the county. Eight varieties, named, in sizes from tabletop to twelve feet, cut your own or fresh-cut or dug live to plant — and the only farm in the county that has published a 2026 opening date.

  • OpensFri 27 Nov9am — the farm’s own 2026 date
  • Hours in seasonMon–Sat 9am–6pmSun 9am–5pm
  • Christmas EveCloses 2pmthe last day
  • Pre-taggingNot availablethe farm says so plainly
  • VarietiesEight, all namedtabletop to 12 ft
  • AdmissionFreeyou pay for the tree and nothing else

The eight varieties, and the sizes each comes in

  • Concolor fircut your own 5–9 ft, fresh cut to 12 ft, live 4–5 ft
  • Canaan fircut your own 5–10 ft, fresh cut to 12 ft, live 4–5 ft
  • Douglas fircut your own 5–10 ft, fresh cut to 12 ft
  • Fraser fircut your own 5–9 ft, fresh cut to 12 ft
  • Nordmann fircut your own 6–8 ft, fresh cut to 12 ft
  • Koreana fircut your own 5–9 ft
  • Norway sprucelive to plant, 4–5 ft
  • White pinelive to plant, 4–5 ft
  • Pricesnot published — ring 717-432-4017

What’s there

  • Eight named varieties
  • Cut your own
  • Fresh cut
  • Live trees to plant
  • Tractor-wagon rides
  • Farm animals
  • Weekend entertainment
  • Kennedy’s Kitchen food trailer
  • Gift shop
  • No admission fee
  • Stands Strait stands and tree preservative sold

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • PaymentVisa, Mastercard, Discover and cash — no cheques
  • Restroomsnot stated

Worth knowingEight varieties is the widest named choice in either York or Lancaster County, and the sizes differ by species — Koreana fir is cut-your-own only, Norway spruce and white pine are sold live to plant rather than cut, and only concolor and Canaan come all three ways. If you want a particular species at a particular height, that table is worth reading before you drive out rather than after.

Before you set offThe farm has posted a 2026 date with the year on it, which no other farm in the county has done. Pre-tagging is not available — so unlike the Lancaster farms an hour east, there is no way to claim a tree in October and come back for it. Hours change in bad weather by the farm’s own warning, and outside the tree season the farm keeps shorter hours and closes on Sundays. Prices are still not published for any of the eight varieties.

Contact

Checked 28 Oct 2026

Brown’s Tree Farm

York, PA · 10 min north-east of the city

Lee Brown started this farm with a shovel and some saplings in 1979 and has been selling Christmas trees off it since 1988; Pat Brown makes the wreaths and sashes. Every tree in the field is the same price whatever its size, which is close to unique, and the crew drill, shake, bale and load it for you.

  • OpensThe Saturday before ThanksgivingSat 21 Nov 2026 by that rule — our arithmetic, not their date
  • Any field tree$84plus PA sales tax, any size
  • SpeciesThreeFraser, Canaan and Douglas fir
  • TaggingNonethe farm says so plainly
  • Field treesMon–Fri 11am–5pmSat and Sun 9am–5pm
  • Pre-cutMon–Fri 11am–7pmSat and Sun 9am–7pm

2026 prices, published by the farm

  • Any field tree, any size$84 plus PA sales tax
  • Fresh-cut treespriced individually, on the lot daily
  • Wreathsmade daily — ring Pat for special orders

What’s there

  • Fraser fir
  • Canaan fir
  • Douglas fir
  • Flat $84 for any field tree
  • Tree drilling
  • Shaking
  • Baling
  • Crew help loading
  • Fresh wreaths daily
  • Tree stands, bags and food
  • Roping, swags and window sashes
  • Grave easels and mailbox covers

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • Paymentcash preferred — cards accepted
  • Restroomsnot stated

Worth knowingA flat $84 is the cheapest way to buy a tall tree anywhere we list. Almost every farm in the country charges by height, so at Brown’s a 12 ft tree costs what a 5 ft one does — at Hunt’s in Lancaster a 12–14 ft white pine is $300. Fresh-cut trees on the lot are priced one by one and are not covered by the flat rate. The pre-cut lot also stays open two hours later than the field in the evening.

Before you set offThey publish a rule rather than a date: “Opening Day Saturday before Thanksgiving”, which is on the site now, as a banner across every page, with no year attached. That rule would put opening day on Saturday 21 November 2026 — but that is our arithmetic from their rule, not a date the farm has posted, so treat it as likely rather than certain. Ring 717-757-4324 or write to info@brownstreefarm.net. There is no tagging here, so there is nothing to do before opening day but turn up.

Contact

Checked 28 Oct 2026

Haring Tree Farms

Goldsboro, PA · 30 min north-west of York

Three farms under one name, started by Lester Haring in 1979 and now run by his daughters Tracy and Jackie. Choose and cut happens at the Valley Road farm in Goldsboro, where the saws and carts are free and every tree in the field is signposted by variety; two large pole barns hold pre-cut trees from all three farms in sizes up to fourteen feet.

  • 2026 datesnot publishedtheir site still shows last season
  • SpeciesFive, namedmore than any York neighbour
  • Choose and cutFour of the fiveFraser, Douglas, Canaan and concolor
  • Pre-cut5 to 14 fttwo indoor pole barns
  • Wreaths12 to 48 incheshand-made daily, plain or decorated

The five species the farm names

  • Fraser firchoose and cut, or pre-cut
  • Douglas firchoose and cut, or pre-cut
  • Canaan firchoose and cut, or pre-cut
  • Concolor firchoose and cut, or pre-cut
  • Blue sprucethe strongest branches of the five
  • Pricesnot published for any of them

What’s there

  • Fraser fir
  • Douglas fir
  • Canaan fir
  • Concolor fir
  • Blue spruce
  • Saws and carts provided
  • Staff will cut it for you
  • Every field tree signposted by variety
  • Pre-cut to 14 ft
  • Wreaths, swags, garland and cemetery wreaths
  • Balled live trees

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • Paymentnot stated
  • Restroomsnot stated

Worth knowingChoose and cut is at the Valley Road farm in Goldsboro only — the Cly farm on River Drive sells pre-cut, and there is a third farm in Columbia County. The wreaths are made daily from cuttings off their own trees, which is why the sizes run all the way to 48 inches; cemetery wreaths and garland are made the same way.

Before you set offTheir site reads “Opening day will be: November 22, 2025” — last season, stated with the year on it — and no 2026 equivalent has gone up. The species, the sizes and what the farm provides are not dated and do not change from year to year, so those are printed here; the dates are not. They publish an email, lindseykeiser4@gmail.com, which is more than most York farms manage, and we have written to it. One address conflict to know about: their own page gives 1707 Valley Road, Goldsboro, while pickyourownchristmastree.org lists 1705 Valley Road, Etters. We have printed the farm’s own.

Contact

Checked 28 Oct 2026

Family Tree Farm

Red Lion, PA · 20 min south-east of York

A Red Lion farm of thirty-five years that also runs an apple orchard, a vegetable market and a pumpkin patch, and whose choose-and-cut starts later than anyone else’s in the county — 1 December, weekdays only, one o’clock to five. The family has handed the farm on, and what happens to the Christmas trees under the new owners is the open question.

  • Starts1 Decemberlater than any York neighbour
  • OpenWeekdays only1pm–5pm
  • Yearnot publishedno year published — see below
  • Under new ownersYesthe farm has been handed on
  • AlsoOrchard, market and pumpkinspick your own

What’s there

  • Choose and cut from 1 December
  • Weekdays only
  • Apple orchard
  • Vegetable market
  • Pumpkin patch

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • Paymentnot stated
  • Restroomsnot stated

Worth knowingThe farm trades under two names. The header says Flowing Springs Farm and the logo says Family Tree Farm, and the choose-and-cut note sits under the first of them. Both are the same place at 4802 Dairy Road.

Before you set offRead the farm’s own “Special Message” before you plan around the 1 December start. The family who built the farm say age and health meant passing it on, that they put it into the Farm and Natural Lands Trust so it stays farmland, and that the new owners will carry on the vegetable market, the apple orchard and the pumpkin patch. Christmas trees are not named in that list. The choose-and-cut note is still on the front page, with no year on it and a copyright line reading 2024, and their Instagram was last updated in 2023. None of that means the trees have stopped — but ring 717-332-6365 or write to karen@familytreefarm.com before you drive to Red Lion on a December afternoon.

Contact

Checked 28 Oct 2026

Three listings that are not what the directories say

Flinchbaugh’s Orchard and Farm Market, 110 Ducktown Road, Hellam · 717-252-2540. Listed as a York County Christmas tree farm. Their own Christmas page offers a Christmas market, holiday bakery orders and “Christmas decor — bows, greens, arrangements”, and does not mention trees anywhere. Go for the wreaths and the baking, not to cut a tree.

Mad Radish Farm, 1991 George Street, Dover · 443-643-5684. The directories list it as “formerly 3 Gs Trees Cut Your Own Tree Farm”, and that “formerly” appears to be the whole story: the current farm’s site covers a farm stand and pick-your-own and says nothing about Christmas trees at all. Ring before you count on it.

Strathmeyer Christmas Trees, 334 Carlisle Avenue, York · 717-292-5683. A large grower with a lot at the York Expo Center rather than a field you walk. Their site is dated 2020 and disagrees with itself about whether the firm started in 1932 or 1936. Fine for a pre-cut tree; not a choose-and-cut.

Six more farms we could not check

Two block automated reading and four keep only a Facebook page. That is not the same as having published nothing, so rather than guess we are naming them with the contact details the county’s directories give and saying plainly that they are unchecked.

Been to one of these this year? Tell us and it goes up with a proper card.

York County Christmas tree questions

Where can you cut your own Christmas tree in York County, PA?

4 farms publish enough to plan around. McCurdy’s in Dillsburg is the only one with a 2026 date up, and it names all eight of its varieties and the sizes they come in; Brown’s just outside York is the best known and the only one with a price up; Haring in Goldsboro names five species outright and offers four of them for choose and cut; and Family Tree Farm in Red Lion opens weekdays only from 1 December. Six more farms exist in the county but publish nothing we could read.

When do York County Christmas tree farms open in 2026?

McCurdy’s in Dillsburg opens on Friday 27 November 2026 at 9am, and is the only farm in the county to have printed this season’s date with the year on it. The other three have not. Brown’s publishes a standing rule — it opens “the Saturday before Thanksgiving”, which in 2026 falls on 21 November — but that is our arithmetic from their rule, not a date they have posted. Haring’s site still reads “Opening day will be: November 22, 2025”. Family Tree Farm starts 1 December, weekdays only, with no year attached and a change of ownership behind it. Ring before you go.

How much is a Christmas tree in York County?

One farm publishes a figure and it is an unusual one: Brown’s charges $84 plus Pennsylvania sales tax for any field tree, any size. Almost every farm in the country prices by height, so a flat rate changes the maths completely — a 12 ft tree costs the same as a 5 ft one. Nobody else in the county prints anything. For comparison, Hunt’s in Lancaster runs $100 to $130 at 6–8 ft and $300 for a 12–14 ft white pine, and our what a tree costs page collects every real list we hold.

Which York County farm is best with children?

McCurdy’s in Dillsburg, comfortably. A tractor-wagon ride out to the trees, farm animals, Santa, music and weekend entertainment, a food trailer, and no admission fee — you pay for the tree and nothing else. In tree season it is open Monday to Saturday 9am to 6pm and Sunday 9am to 5pm, and it closes at 2pm on Christmas Eve. Outside the season the farm keeps shorter hours and shuts on Sundays, and the wagon stops boarding well before closing, so go earlier in the day than you think you need to.

Is York County or Lancaster County better for cutting your own tree?

Lancaster, on the evidence. It has more farms, six of them with 2026 dates up, a full published price list at Hunt’s, a flat $90 any-tree price at Gehman’s and free tagging from 1 October. York has one farm with a posted 2026 date, McCurdy’s, and no tagging anywhere — both it and Brown’s say so outright. What York has that Lancaster does not is Brown’s flat $84, which for a tall tree beats anything in Lancaster outright. The two counties are about an hour apart, so you can reasonably choose on that basis.

Can I bring my dog?

None of the four say either way, which is unusual — several Lancaster and North Carolina farms state a policy plainly. Assume a leashed dog is probably fine and ring first if it matters, because a wasted drive with a dog in the car is worse than the phone call.

Why does this page have fewer farms than the Lancaster one?

Because fewer York farms publish anything. Nine keep websites; of those, two look to have stopped selling trees altogether, one reads as a wholesaler with a lot at the York Expo Center, and two block automated reading. Four more keep only a Facebook page. We list the four we can describe accurately and name the rest below rather than padding the page with entries we cannot stand behind.

How these were checked

Every listing above was read on the farm’s own website, and each card carries the date it was last read. One of the four York County farms has published a 2026 date — McCurdy’s, on 27 November. For the other three the opening column is left empty rather than carrying last season forward, and where a farm publishes a rule instead of a date, the card says that the date is our arithmetic rather than theirs.

Three farms the directories list as choose-and-cut are not, as far as their own sites show, and they are named above with what they actually are. Dates and prices change: ring the farm before you set off, and if something here has gone stale, say so and it gets fixed.

Also on pickinghours