pickinghours

Christmas tree farms near Boone

8 choose-and-cut Fraser fir farms in and around Boone, in the mountains that supply most of the east coast’s real Christmas trees. Seven have posted 2026 dates and three now give a price; the one that hasn’t posted says so on its card.

Farms listed
8
2026 dates posted
7
First to open
14 Nov
Last checked
28 Oct

Christmas tree farms near Boone: 2026 dates

All 8, soonest first. Tap a name for the dates, hours and how to get in touch.

  1. 14 Nov2026Clawson’s Choose & CutBoone · 10 min from downtown BooneFraser firno price published
  2. 14 Nov2026Greene Tree FarmBoone · 15 min from downtown BooneFraser firno price published
  3. 14 Nov2026C & J Christmas TreesBoone · on Hwy 194 north of BooneFraser firno price published
  4. 14 Nov2026Appalachian Evergreens Choose & CutBoone · minutes from downtown BooneFraser fir$72 for 6 ft
  5. 14 Nov2026Circle C Tree FarmsBoone · a mile off Hwy 421, east of BooneFraser fir$50–$500
  6. 21 Nov2026Panoramic View Christmas Tree FarmBoone · 15 min from downtown BooneFraser firno price published
  7. 27 Nov2026Cornett Deal Christmas Tree FarmVilas · 20 min west of Boonenot stated$80–$175, 5–9 ft
  8. tbcAppalachian Christmas Mountain FarmsBoone · 15 min north of Boone on US 421Fraser firno price published

First to open

Five farms open on Saturday 14 November, twelve days before Thanksgiving: Clawson’s Choose & Cut and C & J Christmas Trees, both on Highway 194, Greene Tree Farm on Junaluska Road, Appalachian Evergreens on Castle Ford Road, and Circle C off Highway 421. Clawson’s and C & J both run to 20 December, and C & J is open every day of it. If you want a tree on the Thanksgiving weekend itself, all seven of the farms with dates are open.

Not posted yet

Appalachian Christmas Mountain Farms is the last one without dates. Its November and December calendar is perfectly legible — it is just the 2024 season’s, still up — and the farm publishes no phone number, only an email. We are asking, and the dates go up the day they arrive. Circle C was here until 28 October and has now posted its whole season.

8 farms in and around Boone, soonest to open first

Clawson’s Choose & Cut

Boone, NC · 10 min from downtown Boone

One of the two longest seasons around Boone — five weeks, from mid-November right up to the last weekend before Christmas, while most farms here open on a handful of weekends. Turn in on the road between the church and the fire department. Hayrides, hot cocoa and the farm animals are all free, and they will drill the trunk for a spike stand before they load it.

2026 season14 Nov – 20 Dec
NovDec
  • OpensSat 14 Novlast day Sun 20 Dec
  • SeasonFive weeksto 20 Dec, like C & J
  • Tree pricesnot publishednot published
  • Days and hoursnot publishednot published on the farm’s own page
  • ParkingAmple

What’s there

  • Free hayrides
  • Free hot cocoa and coffee
  • Farm animals to pet
  • Tree baling
  • Trunk drilled for a spike stand
  • Wreaths
  • Garland
  • Handmade bows
  • Tree stands sold
  • Restrooms

Practical

  • Dogsyes — pets are welcome
  • Paymentcash, cheque, debit, credit, Apple Pay or Google Pay — cards carry a $4 fee
  • Restroomsyes

Worth knowingThe $4 card fee is per transaction, so it is worth bringing cash for a single tree. Professional photo sessions are Monday to Friday only, $50 an hour, and you check in with the office when you arrive — they keep the weekends clear for families cutting trees.

Before you set offThe farm has posted its 2026 season but not which days of the week it opens, nor its hours or prices. The growers’ directory says seven days a week, 9am to 5pm, but that is not from the farm itself — phone before a long drive.

Contact

Checked 13 Oct 2026

Greene Tree Farm

Boone, NC · 15 min from downtown Boone

Twelve dates with a different set of hours on each, published down to the half hour, including a Thanksgiving morning opening. Trees from 3 to 12 ft, cut, baled and loaded for you, with the trunk drilled if you use a spike stand. Free hayrides when the weather allows, free hot chocolate and apple cider, and a shop of homemade and local work.

2026 season14 Nov – 12 Dec
NovDec
  • OpensSat 14 Novlast day Sat 12 Dec
  • Trees3 to 12 ft
  • Tree pricesnot publishednot published (wholesale by email)
  • ThanksgivingOpen 11am–1pmThu 26 Nov
  • Entrynot publishednot stated

Every 2026 date

  • Sat 14 Nov11am–4pm
  • Sun 15 Nov12–3pm
  • Sat 21 Nov10am–5pm
  • Sun 22 Nov12–4pm
  • Wed 25 Nov11am–3pm
  • Thu 26 Nov11am–1pm
  • Fri 27 Nov10am–5pm
  • Sat 28 Nov10am–5pm
  • Sun 29 Nov11am–4pm
  • Fri 4 Dec11am–4pm
  • Sat 5 Dec12–3pm
  • Sat 12 Dec11am–2pm

What’s there

  • Free hayrides, weather permitting
  • Free hot chocolate
  • Free apple cider
  • Cut, baled and loaded for you
  • Trunk drilled for a spike stand
  • Christmas shop
  • Fraser fir wreaths
  • Mountain views

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • Paymentnot stated
  • Restroomsnot stated

Worth knowingThe hours change with every date, so read them before you set off. The two longest days are Saturday 21 and Friday 27 to Saturday 28 November, 10am to 5pm. The shortest is Thanksgiving Day itself, 11am to 1pm, and the last day, Saturday 12 December, 11am to 2pm.

Before you set offTheir own page gives the street number as 6869 Junaluska Rd but the map link points to 6989. Follow the map link or phone ahead.

Contact

Checked 13 Oct 2026

C & J Christmas Trees

Boone, NC · on Hwy 194 north of Boone

The best-documented season of any farm up here: open every single day from the opening weekend to 20 December, with the hours published for each one. Weekends and the whole Thanksgiving stretch are 9am to 4pm, ordinary weekdays 10am to 4pm. Fraser fir and wreaths. The one thing missing is the price — their pricing page is still blank.

2026 season14 Nov – 20 Dec
NovDec
  • OpensSat 14 Novlast day Sun 20 Dec
  • OpenEvery dayall five weeks
  • Weekends9am–4pmand 26–29 Nov
  • Weekdays10am–4pm
  • Tree pricesnot publishedtheir pricing page is blank

Every 2026 date

  • 14–15 Nov9am–4pm
  • 16–20 Nov10am–4pm
  • 21–22 Nov9am–4pm
  • 23–25 Nov10am–4pm
  • 26 Nov (Thanksgiving)9am–4pm
  • 27–29 Nov9am–4pm
  • 30 Nov – 4 Dec10am–4pm
  • 5–6 Dec9am–4pm
  • 7–11 Dec10am–4pm
  • 12–13 Dec9am–4pm
  • 14–18 Dec10am–4pm
  • 19–20 Dec9am–4pm

What’s there

  • Fraser fir
  • Choose and cut
  • Wreaths
  • Open every day of the season

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • Paymentnot stated
  • Restroomsnot stated

Worth knowingThanksgiving week is the one to know: they are open on Thanksgiving Day itself, Thursday 26 November, 9am to 4pm, and keep the 9am start right through to Sunday 29 November. The rest of the week-day season starts an hour later, at 10am.

Before you set offNo street address on their own site, only “Boone, NC”, and two different email addresses appear on the same page. Phone before you set off.

Contact

Checked 13 Oct 2026

Appalachian Evergreens Choose & Cut

Boone, NC · minutes from downtown Boone

The only farm around Boone that publishes a full price list, and the cheapest we have found anywhere in North Carolina — $72 for a 6 ft Fraser fir. Their largest choose-and-cut field yet, looking across at Elk Knob state park. The staff cut, bale and tie the tree to your car while you have a cup of cocoa, coffee or cider on them. Five dates a year, all weekends.

2026 season14 Nov – 6 Dec
NovDec
  • OpensSat 14 Novlast day Sun 6 Dec
  • OpenWeekends only9am–4pm each day
  • Tree prices$60 at 5 ft to $135 at 9 ft$72 for a 6 ft tree
  • Cut for youCut, baled and tied onwhile you have a hot drink
  • Good to know$5 a tree to charityWestern Youth Network

Every 2026 date

  • Sat 14 – Sun 15 Nov9am–4pm
  • Sat 21 – Sun 22 Nov9am–4pm
  • Fri 27 – Sun 29 Nov9am–4pm
  • Sat 5 – Sun 6 Dec9am–4pm

2026 prices, published by the farm

  • 5 ft$60
  • 5½ ft$66
  • 6 ft$72
  • 6½ ft$85
  • 7 ft$90
  • 7½ ft$100
  • 8 ft$110
  • 8½ ft$120
  • 9 ft$135

What’s there

  • Full 2026 price list published
  • Free hot cocoa, coffee or cider
  • Staff cut, bale and tie it on
  • Fresh wreaths
  • Garland
  • View of Elk Knob state park

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • Paymentnot stated
  • Restroomsnot stated

Worth knowingThe price ladder is unusually fine-grained — it moves in half-feet, so a 6 ft tree is $72 and a 6½ ft is $85. If you are between sizes it is worth measuring your ceiling before you go. Every tree sold also sends $5 to the Western Youth Network, which runs after-school, mentoring and summer camp programmes in these mountains; the farm matches anything customers add on top, and raised $5,685 that way in 2025.

Before you set offNot to be confused with Appalachian Christmas Mountain Farms, a different farm further out on US 421, listed further down this page.

Contact

Checked 13 Oct 2026

Circle C Tree Farms

Boone, NC · a mile off Hwy 421, east of Boone

A choose-and-cut farm where the staff do the work: they measure the tree you pick, cut it and net it. Handsaws are lent out if you would rather cut it yourself, but chainsaws are not allowed. There is a section of pre-cut trees at a discount, which is the cheapest way to get a tree here, and the farm says its 2026 prices are the same as 2025 and 2024 — three seasons without a rise.

  • OpensSat 14 Nov9am — last day Sun 6 Dec
  • Open daysFourteenlisted one by one below
  • Hours9am–4:15pmon every open day
  • Tree prices$50 at 3 ft to $500 at 14 ftunchanged from 2025 and 2024
  • CheaperPre-cut from $20the cheapest tree on the farm

Every 2026 date

  • Sat 14 – Sun 15 Nov9am–4:15pm
  • Fri 20 – Sun 29 Nov9am–4:15pm, every day
  • Sat 5 – Sun 6 Dec9am–4:15pm

2026 prices — the ends of the farm’s own ladder

  • 3 ft, the smallest$50
  • 14 ft and over, the largest$500
  • Pre-cut sectionfrom $20
  • In betweenpriced by height at the till

What’s there

  • Handsaws provided
  • Staff measure, cut and net
  • Discounted pre-cut section
  • Fresh wreaths
  • Garland
  • Porta-johns
  • Open every day of Thanksgiving week

Practical

  • Dogsyes, on a leash — clean up after them
  • Paymentcash preferred, cards accepted
  • Restroomsporta-johns

Worth knowingA 7 ft tree here is 12 to 14 years old, which is the farm’s own way of explaining the price of a tall one. Trees of 10 ft and over may not be baled, because baling can break the limbs, so bring a pickup or a trailer for a big one. They do not sell tree stands and they do not drill trunks. The gate shuts at 4:15pm rather than 4:30 or 5, which is easy to misremember on a short December afternoon.

Before you set offThe farm publishes the two ends of its price ladder — $50 for the smallest tree at 3 ft, $500 for 14 ft and over — and prices everything in between by height at the till. We have printed the ends rather than guess the rungs. Cash is preferred even though cards are taken.

Contact

Checked 28 Oct 2026

Panoramic View Christmas Tree Farm

Boone, NC · 15 min from downtown Boone

Weekends only, and the sister farm to Clawson’s under the same owners, so the same free hayrides, hot cocoa and farm animals. Trees run from tabletop size up to about 9½ ft, and the farm says the big ones are limited — this is the one for a normal living-room tree rather than a double-height hall.

2026 season21 Nov – 6 Dec
NovDec
  • OpensSat 21 Novlast day Sun 6 Dec
  • OpenWeekends only21–22, 27–29 Nov, 5–6 Dec
  • TreesTabletop to 9½ ftbig trees are limited
  • Tree pricesnot publishednot published
  • Hoursnot publishednot published

What’s there

  • Free hayrides
  • Free hot cocoa and coffee
  • Farm animals
  • Tree baling
  • Trunk drilled on request
  • Wreaths
  • Garland
  • Handmade bows
  • Tree stands sold

Practical

  • Dogsyes — pets are welcome
  • Paymentcash, cheque, debit, credit, Apple Pay or Google Pay — cards carry a $4 fee
  • Restroomsnot stated

Worth knowingSix days in the whole season, all of them a weekend or the Thanksgiving weekend: Saturday 21 and Sunday 22 November, Friday 27 to Sunday 29 November, then Saturday 5 and Sunday 6 December. If you want a tree after that, Clawson’s under the same owners runs right through to 20 December.

Contact

Checked 13 Oct 2026

Cornett Deal Christmas Tree Farm

Vilas, NC · 20 min west of Boone

Three days only, and the farm doubles as a place to stay — there are vacation cabins on the edge of the fields, with hiking and fishing on the farm. The Cardinal’s Nest craft shop is on site. If you are making a weekend of it rather than a morning, this is the one.

2026 season27 Nov – 5 Dec
NovDec
  • OpensFri 27 Novlast day Sat 5 Dec
  • OpenThree days only27 and 28 Nov, 5 Dec
  • Hours10am–4pmon all three days
  • Trees5 to 9 ft$80 to $175
  • Stay overCabins on the farmhiking and fishing

2026 prices — the range Diane gave us on 14 Oct, while the farm settles its final list

  • 5 to 9 ft$80 – $175

What’s there

  • Trees 5 to 9 ft
  • Cardinal’s Nest craft shop
  • Vacation cabins on the farm
  • Hiking
  • Fishing
  • Walking tours

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • Paymentnot stated
  • Restroomsnot stated

Worth knowingThree dates and that is the season: Friday 27 November, Saturday 28 November and Saturday 5 December, 10am to 4pm each day. Everything else on the farm — the cabins, the craft shop — runs on its own calendar.

Before you set offDiane at the farm confirmed to us on 14 October that the address is 245 Tannenbaum Lane — the 142 that appears in the growers’ directories is wrong. She also told us the farm has never published prices and is still settling this year’s, but that trees run 5 to 9 ft at $80 to $175.

Contact

Checked 13 Oct 2026

Appalachian Christmas Mountain Farms

Boone, NC · 15 min north of Boone on US 421

Fraser fir from tabletop to 12 ft on a hillside north of Boone, with tractor and hay rides out to the fields and a shop of handmade and local things at the end of it. The farm publishes a November and December calendar with its open days and hours marked on it — but the one on the site is the 2024 season’s, still up two years later.

  • 2026 datesnot publishedthe calendar on the site is 2024’s
  • Hours9am–5pmevery open day, in 2024 and before
  • The 2024 patternWeekends, plus Black Fridayif it repeats — not their word
  • TreesTabletop to 12 ftFraser fir
  • Tree pricesnot publishednot published
  • Getting to the fieldsTractor and hay ridesincluded

What’s there

  • Fraser fir, tabletop to 12 ft
  • Tractor rides
  • Hay rides
  • Christmas shop
  • Handmade and local goods
  • 9am–5pm on every day it opens

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • Paymentnot stated
  • Restroomsnot stated

Before you set offThe calendar on the farm’s Plan Your Visit page is clear enough — open the 23rd, 24th, 29th and 30th of November and the 1st, 7th and 8th of December, 9am to 5pm — but those are 2024’s weekdays. That year they were the two weekends around Thanksgiving plus Black Friday; this year the 23rd of November is a Monday. It is two seasons old, so it is not in the table above. If the farm keeps the same shape you would expect the weekend before Thanksgiving, the Thanksgiving weekend and the first weekend of December — but that is our arithmetic, not their date. Email acmountainfarms@gmail.com; it is the only way to reach them, because the contact page leaves the phone field empty. Not to be confused with Appalachian Evergreens, a different farm on Castle Ford Road listed further up this page.

Contact

Checked 28 Oct 2026

Boone Christmas tree farm questions

When do Christmas tree farms open near Boone?

Five open on Saturday 14 November 2026: Clawson’s Choose & Cut and C & J Christmas Trees, both on Highway 194 North, Greene Tree Farm on Junaluska Road, Appalachian Evergreens on Castle Ford Road, and Circle C off Highway 421. Panoramic View opens on Saturday 21 November and Cornett Deal in Vilas on Friday 27 November, the day after Thanksgiving. Clawson’s and C & J both run to 20 December; Cornett Deal has the shortest season, three days in all.

What kind of Christmas tree grows around Boone?

Fraser fir. Watauga and Avery counties sit high enough and cold enough for it, which is why North Carolina grows more Fraser fir than anywhere else and why the trees sold on lots in Raleigh and Charlotte were cut up here. A Fraser holds its needles well, has stiff branches for heavy ornaments and smells strongly of Christmas. Nothing else is grown in any quantity on these farms.

How much is a Christmas tree in Boone?

Appalachian Evergreens on Castle Ford Road publishes the fullest list and the cheapest we have found anywhere in the state: $60 at 5 ft, $72 at 6 ft, $90 at 7 ft, $110 at 8 ft and $135 at 9 ft, moving in half-feet in between. Circle C covers the widest range, $50 for a 3 ft tree up to $500 at 14 ft and over, and says those are the same prices it charged in 2025 and 2024; its discounted pre-cut section starts at $20, which is the cheapest tree around Boone. Cornett Deal in Vilas told us directly on 14 October that its trees run 5 to 9 ft at $80 to $175. The other five don’t publish anything and price the tree by height when you bring it in, which is normal up here. For comparison, Mistletoe Meadows in Ashe County asks about $85 for a 6 to 7 ft tree and Elk River Evergreens in Elk Park $90.

Which farm is open the most days?

C & J Christmas Trees, open every day from 14 November to 20 December with the hours published for each one — 9am to 4pm at weekends and through Thanksgiving week, 10am to 4pm on ordinary weekdays. Clawson’s runs the same five weeks but hasn’t said which days. Circle C opens on fourteen dates, including every day from 20 to 29 November, Greene Tree Farm on twelve, Panoramic View on six, and Cornett Deal on just three.

Can I bring my dog?

Yes at Clawson’s and Panoramic View, where pets are welcome, and yes at Circle C on a leash, where they ask you to clean up after them. The other five farms don’t say either way.

Do they cut the tree for you?

At Greene Tree Farm they cut, bale and load it, and will drill the trunk if you use a spike stand. At Circle C the staff measure the tree you choose, cut it and net it, though they will lend you a handsaw if you would rather do it yourself — chainsaws are not allowed. Clawson’s bales trees and drills trunks too. Note that Circle C won’t bale a tree of 10 ft or more, because baling can snap the limbs, so bring a pickup or trailer for a big one.

How these were checked

Each listing comes from the farm’s own website, and every card carries the date it was last read. A 2026 date appears only where the farm itself has posted it; where a farm hasn’t, the card says so rather than carrying last season’s date forward. Seven of the eight have now posted dates. Prices are still the gap up here — Appalachian Evergreens publishes a full ladder and Circle C the two ends of one, Cornett Deal gave us a range by telephone, and the other five cards say so instead of guessing. We are asking each of them.

Spot something that has gone stale? Say so and it gets fixed.

Also on pickinghours