pickinghours

Christmas tree farms near West Jefferson

10 choose-and-cut farms in Ashe County, the county that grows more Christmas trees than any other in America. Five have now posted 2026 dates; the rest are listed with what their own sites actually say, and which year they say it for.

Farms listed
10
2026 dates posted
5
First to open
20 Nov
Last checked
28 Oct

Christmas tree farms near West Jefferson: 2026 dates

All 10, soonest to open first. Tap a name for the hours, prices and how to get in touch.

  1. 20 Nov2026Mistletoe MeadowsLaurel Springs · 35 min east of West JeffersonFraser fir$85 at 6–7 ft
  2. 20 Nov2026Peach Bottom Christmas Tree FarmLaurel Springs · 35 min east of West JeffersonFraser fir, white pineno price published
  3. 20 Nov2026Frosty’s Choose & CutWest Jefferson · 10 min from the town centreFraser firno price published
  4. 21 Nov2026Day’s Choose & CutWest Jefferson · 10 min from the town centreFraser firno price published
  5. 27 Nov2026Top of the Mountain FarmsWest Jefferson · 15 min from the town centreFraser fir$85 at 6–7 ft
  6. tbcLantern FarmWest Jefferson · 15 min from the town centreSix kinds of fir$30–$180 (2025)
  7. tbcShady Rest Tree FarmGlendale Springs · 20 min south of West JeffersonNine species or moreno price published
  8. tbcLong’s Tree FarmWest Jefferson · 10 min south of the town centreFraser fir, white pineno price published
  9. tbcLil’ Grandfather Choose and CutLaurel Springs · 30 min east of West JeffersonFraser fir, white pine, blue spruce2025: $89 at 6–7 ft
  10. tbcClark’s EvergreensFleetwood · 20 min south-west of West JeffersonFraser firno price published

First to open

Three farms open on Friday 20 November. Mistletoe Meadows in Laurel Springs has eleven open days through to 13 December, closed on Thanksgiving Day, and asks $85 for a 6–7 ft tree. Peach Bottom, a few minutes away, has thirteen — the most in the county — and is open on Thanksgiving Day itself. Frosty’s opens that afternoon at 3pm and runs nine days to 6 December. Day’s follows on Saturday 21 November and Top of the Mountain on Friday 27 November.

Why the rest say “tbc”

Five of these farms still have last season’s dates on their own websites, or dates with no year attached at all. We have left the date column empty rather than carry 2025 forward, and each card quotes what the farm actually says. Where a farm publishes a species list or a price band without a year, that goes up — what a farm grows changes far more slowly than when it opens. Every number here is checked again as the farms post.

10 farms in and around Ashe County, soonest to open first

Mistletoe Meadows

Laurel Springs, NC · 35 min east of West Jefferson

One of the two farms in Ashe County that have committed to this season, and the only one in the North Carolina mountains with a 2026 price on its own website. Eleven open days between 20 November and 13 December, nine in the morning until dark. Their elves cut, bale and load the tree, and every tree comes with a free window wreath.

2026 season20 Nov – 13 Dec
NovDec
  • OpensFri 20 Novlast day Sun 13 Dec
  • Open daysElevenlisted one by one below
  • Hours9am to darkevery open day
  • ThanksgivingClosedThu 26 Nov
  • 6–7 ft tree$85the farm’s own 2026 figure

Every 2026 date

  • Fri 20 – Sun 22 Nov9am to dark
  • Wed 25 Nov9am to dark
  • Thu 26 Novclosed — Thanksgiving
  • Fri 27 – Sun 29 Nov9am to dark
  • Sat 5 – Sun 6 Dec9am to dark
  • Sat 12 – Sun 13 Dec9am to dark

What’s there

  • Fraser fir
  • Trees 3 to 13 ft
  • Free window wreath with every tree
  • Cut, baled and loaded for you
  • Cocoa at the barn
  • Hayrides on holiday farm weekends
  • Wreaths and greenery

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • Paymentnot stated
  • Restroomsnot stated

Worth knowingEleven dates, not a continuous season: 20, 21 and 22 November, then 25, 27, 28 and 29 November, then 5 and 6 December and 12 and 13 December. They are closed on Thanksgiving Day itself but open the Wednesday before and the Friday after. Anything outside those days is by appointment.

Before you set offTheir footer carries a second address, 583 Burnt Hill Road, and a second phone, 336-465-9754. The 270 Mistletoe Meadows Parkway address is the one on the choose-and-cut page, so that is the one to drive to. We have asked which phone they prefer.

Contact

Checked 14 Oct 2026

Peach Bottom Christmas Tree Farm

Laurel Springs, NC · 35 min east of West Jefferson

Thirteen open days, more than any other farm in Ashe County, across four weekends and the whole Thanksgiving stretch. Fraser fir and white pine, cut your own in the field or bought ready-cut, and a shop that posts trees anywhere in the country for people who cannot get up the mountain.

  • OpensFri 20 Novlast day Sun 13 Dec
  • Open daysThirteenthe most in the county — listed below
  • Hours10am–5pmon every open day
  • ThanksgivingOpen Thu 26 Novand the three days after
  • Field pricesnot publishedthe shop prices below are posted trees

Every 2026 date

  • Fri 20 – Sun 22 Nov10am–5pm
  • Thu 26 – Sun 29 Nov10am–5pm, Thanksgiving included
  • Fri 4 – Sun 6 Dec10am–5pm
  • Fri 11 – Sun 13 Dec10am–5pm

Shop prices — trees posted to you, not cut in the field

  • Fraser fir, posted$132.95 – $198.95
  • White pine, posted$112.95 – $189.95
  • Carriageincluded in both
  • A tree cut in the fieldnot published — ring the farm

What’s there

  • Fraser fir
  • White pine
  • Choose and cut
  • Pre-cut trees
  • Wreaths
  • Trees posted nationwide
  • Open on Thanksgiving Day
  • Thirteen open days

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • Paymentnot stated
  • Restroomsnot stated

Worth knowingThe prices on their website are for a tree posted to your door, with the carriage already inside the figure. They are not what a tree costs if you drive up and cut it, which the farm does not publish — so do not use the shop as a guide to the field. If you are ringing, Bryan answers the phone.

Before you set offThirteen open days over four weekends, 10am to 5pm, and the farm is open on Thanksgiving Day itself. Ring 336-657-7565 or email peachbottomtrees@gmail.com for a field price before you set off — it is a thirty-five minute drive east of West Jefferson and the only prices on the site are posted ones.

Contact

Checked 28 Oct 2026

Frosty’s Choose & Cut

West Jefferson, NC · 10 min from the town centre

Premium Fraser fir ten minutes from the middle of West Jefferson, with a trolley or hayride up the mountain, a winery on the same property and pets welcome in the rows. Nine open days over three weekends, closed on Thanksgiving Day itself and open all day on Black Friday.

  • OpensFri 20 Novfrom 3pm — last day Sun 6 Dec
  • Open daysNinethree weekends, listed below
  • ThanksgivingClosed Thu 26 Novopen 9am–5pm on Black Friday
  • PetsWelcomebring them to pick a tree
  • Tree pricesnot publishednot published

Every 2026 date

  • Fri 20 Novfrom 3pm — opening afternoon
  • Sat 21 – Sun 22 Novsecond and third days
  • Thu 26 Novclosed for Thanksgiving
  • Fri 27 Nov9am–5pm, Black Friday
  • Sat 28 – Sun 29 NovThanksgiving weekend
  • Fri 4 – Sun 6 Decthe last weekend

What’s there

  • Premium Fraser fir
  • Trolley or hayride up the mountain
  • Old Barn Winery on site
  • Pets welcome
  • Open on Black Friday

Practical

  • Dogsyes — bring them to pick a tree
  • Paymentnot stated
  • Restroomsnot stated

Worth knowingOpening day starts at 3pm, not in the morning, so Friday 20 November is an afternoon rather than a day. Black Friday is the long one, 9am to 5pm. The winery on the same property keeps its own hours.

Before you set offThe farm publishes no phone number of any kind, and no prices. The dates above are the farm’s own and they fall on this year’s weekdays — 20 November is a Friday in 2026 and was a Thursday in 2025, and closing on Thanksgiving while opening 9am to 5pm the day after only works for 26 and 27 November 2026. Ask for a price through their website before you drive out.

Contact

Checked 28 Oct 2026

Day’s Choose & Cut

West Jefferson, NC · 10 min from the town centre

A small farm growing its own Fraser fir, with a shop in the barn for wreaths and greenery, ten minutes out of West Jefferson. It has tall trees this season — 11 and 12 footers — which not every farm in the county can say.

  • OpensSat 21 Novthe farm’s own word, not a posted calendar
  • Last daynot publishednot published
  • TreesFraser firgrown on the farm
  • Tall trees11 and 12 ft availablethis season
  • Tree pricesnot publishedthe farm calls itself one of the cheaper ones

What’s there

  • Fraser fir grown on the farm
  • 11 and 12 ft trees this season
  • Shop in the barn
  • Wreaths
  • Greenery
  • Portable restroom

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • Paymentnot stated
  • Restroomsportable, on site

Before you set offThe opening date comes from the farm itself, answering a customer underneath one of its own posts this season — not from a published calendar, and there is no closing date with it. The farm has no website. Ring 336-977-9227 or email dayschoosencut@icloud.com to confirm the day before you drive out, and to ask what a tree costs: they describe themselves as one of the cheaper farms in the county but publish no figures, which is a band rather than a price.

Contact

Checked 28 Oct 2026

Top of the Mountain Farms

West Jefferson, NC · 15 min from the town centre

A choose-and-cut lot of Fraser fir from tabletop size up to twelve feet, with a hayride and hot chocolate while you make up your mind, plus wreaths and garland to match the tree. Fridays and Saturdays, ten to five, from 27 November to 12 December, with a full 2026 price list — the only one in Ashe County — sent to us by the farm.

2026 season27 Nov – 12 Dec
NovDec
  • OpensFri 27 Novlast day Sat 12 Dec
  • Open daysFridays and Saturdaysevery week of the season
  • Hours10am–5pmevery open day
  • TreesTabletop to 12 ftFraser fir
  • 6–7 ft tree$85the farm’s own 2026 list, in full below

The 2026 price list

  • Table tops$30
  • 4–5 ft$45
  • 5–6 ft$65
  • 6–7 ft$85
  • 7–8 ft$100
  • 8–9 ft$140
  • 9–10 ft$175
  • 10–11 ft$230
  • 11–12 ft$300

What’s there

  • Fraser fir
  • Trees to 12 ft
  • Hayride
  • Hot chocolate
  • Wreaths
  • Garland

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • Paymentnot stated
  • Restroomsnot stated

Before you set offThe pattern has changed since last season, so do not go by memory: it is Fridays and Saturdays only now, not Thursday to Saturday, and the gate opens at 10am, not 9am. These dates, hours and prices came straight from Becky Fairchild at the farm, by email on 20 and 21 October 2026, and the farm has since put the same dates on its own front page — opening Friday 27 November 2026, every Friday and Saturday, 10am to 5pm, last day Saturday 12 December. If you land on a page anywhere still showing last November’s dates, this is the newer information.

Which addressThree addresses circulate for this farm, and the farm has now settled it. 3450 Phillips Gap Road is the choose-and-cut field — that is the one to drive to. 2152 Water Tank Road, which the state growers’ association lists, is their office. And 516 West Reno Road in Glendale Springs, which pickyourownchristmastree.org publishes, is not theirs at all: in Becky Fairchild’s words, “I’m not sure where the West Reno Road address came from; it is not associated with us.”

Contact

Checked 21 Oct 2026

Lantern Farm

West Jefferson, NC · 15 min from the town centre

A farm that works right through the autumn — pumpkin patch and corn maze in October, then six kinds of fir to choose from at Christmas, with wagon rides and wreath building. It publishes a price list and a run of six dates, but puts the year on neither.

  • DatesSix days posted21, 22, 23, 28, 29 and 30 Nov, with no year
  • SpeciesSix kinds of firthe second widest list in the county
  • Prices$30 at 3–4 ft to $180 at 9–10 ftheaded 2025 by the farm
  • Open in OctoberYespumpkin patch and corn maze
  • AlsoWagon rides and wreath buildingduring the season

The farm’s price list — headed “2025 PRICING”

  • 3 – 4 ft$30
  • 9 – 10 ft$180
  • In betweenthe farm’s own ladder, still headed 2025

What’s there

  • Six kinds of fir
  • Wagon rides
  • Wreath building
  • Pumpkin patch in October
  • Corn maze

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • Paymentnot stated
  • Restroomsnot stated

Before you set offThe price list is still headed 2025 PRICING in the farm’s own words, and the six dates carry no year at all — 21 November is a Saturday in 2026 and was a Friday in 2025, so they cannot be read either way. We have asked whether the 2025 prices still stand. There is also a conflict worth knowing about before you dial: the farm’s own pages give both 828-278-9805 and 828-278-4489. Try the first and fall back to the second.

Contact

Checked 28 Oct 2026

Shady Rest Tree Farm

Glendale Springs, NC · 20 min south of West Jefferson

The widest choice of tree in North Carolina: nine or more species across two sites and more than thirty thousand trees, with choose-and-cut going up to 20 ft. Nothing on the website has been turned over for this season.

  • 2026 datesnot publishedtheir site still shows last season
  • TreesUp to 20 ftmail order up to 7 ft
  • SpeciesNine or morethe widest list in NC
  • Tree pricesnot publishednot published
  • LocationsTwomore than 30,000 trees

What’s there

  • Fraser fir
  • Nordmann fir
  • Korean fir
  • Turkish fir
  • Concolor fir
  • Canaan fir
  • White pine
  • Colorado blue spruce
  • Choose and cut to 20 ft
  • Mail order

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • Paymentnot stated
  • Restroomsnot stated

Before you set offTheir own site still reads “Choose and Cut Opens November 22, 2025” — their 31st season — and gives no closing date or daily hours. Nothing there has been updated for 2026, so treat the whole schedule as last season’s. Two numbers appear for this farm, 336-977-1659 and 336-982-2031; we have printed the first and both are worth trying. Their published email address, info@shadyresttreefarm.com, bounced when we wrote on 14 October — srtreefarm@skybest.com is the one that works.

Contact

Checked 28 Oct 2026

Long’s Tree Farm

West Jefferson, NC · 10 min south of the town centre

The tallest trees in Ashe County — Fraser fir from tabletop to 16 ft — with sheared white pine alongside and free drilling if you use a spike stand. The schedule on the website is still headed as last season’s.

  • 2026 datesnot publishedtheir site is headed 2025
  • Fraser firTabletop to 16 ftthe tallest around
  • White pineTabletop to 10 ftsheared
  • Free drillingYesfor a spike stand
  • Tree pricesnot published$5-off coupon, no price list

What’s there

  • Fraser fir to 16 ft
  • Sheared white pine
  • Free drilling for spike stands
  • $5-off coupon on the site

Practical

  • Dogsnot stated
  • Paymentnot stated
  • Restroomsnot stated

Before you set offThe page is headed as the 2025 Schedule — 22 and 23 November, Thanksgiving Day, 28 to 30 November, then every weekend in December until Christmas, 9am until dusk. The footer says “Copyright 2026”, which does not move the dates. The address above is the farm’s own correction: its website gives 8306 on the address line and 8400 on its map link, we asked which was right, and the farm replied on 29 October that it is 8241 — neither of them. It did not give us dates or prices, so ring 336-846-5261 before you drive.

Contact

Checked 30 Oct 2026

Lil’ Grandfather Choose and Cut

Laurel Springs, NC · 30 min east of West Jefferson

The most family-minded farm in the county, and now the one with the fullest price list: free hayrides and free pony rides come with the tree, there is a hay-bale cinema, Santa is on site for most opening hours, and the restroom is heated. Fraser fir, white pine and blue spruce. The catch is the calendar — everything they publish is still last season’s.

  • 2026 datesnot publishedeverything published is last season’s
  • SantaMost opening hourswith a workshop
  • Hayride & pony rideFreeincluded with the tree
  • RestroomHeatedporta-potties as well
  • PaymentCash, Visa, Mastercardconcessions are cash only

2025 prices — the farm’s own figures, headed “2025 cut tree prices”. The 2026 list is not out yet

  • 4–5 ft$57
  • 5–6 ft$78
  • 6–7 ft$89
  • 7–8 ft$99
  • 8–9 ft$150
  • 9–10 ft$170
  • 10–11 ft$210
  • 11–12 ft$265

What’s there

  • Fraser fir
  • White pine
  • Blue spruce
  • Santa on site
  • Santa’s workshop
  • Free pony rides
  • Free hayrides
  • Rope for tying the tree on
  • Hay-bale cinema
  • Heated restroom
  • Concessions
  • Local crafts
  • Wreaths and roping
  • Pets on a leash

Practical

  • Dogsyes — friendly pets on a leash
  • Paymentcash, Visa and Mastercard — concessions cash only
  • Restroomsyes, heated, plus porta-potties

Worth knowingThe hayride and the pony ride are free with the tree, and they throw in the rope to tie it on. Concessions are run by the Peak Creek Church of the Brethren youth group and are cash only, even though the farm itself takes cards. They don’t take reservations for trees or for parties.

Before you set offEverything this farm publishes is last season’s, including what comes back if you email them. Their site lists Sat 22 and Sun 23 November, Thanksgiving on the 27th, then the 28th, 29th and 30th, and 6 and 7 December — with no year on it; their automatic email reply sends the same dates and a price list headed “2025 cut tree prices”. Every one of those weekdays is 2025: in 2026, 22 November is a Sunday and Thanksgiving falls on the 26th. We have printed the prices because they are the farm’s own and clearly labelled, but expect both the dates and the figures to move. We have asked.

Contact

Checked 14 Oct 2026

Clark’s Evergreens

Fleetwood, NC · 20 min south-west of West Jefferson

Fraser fir, hayrides, wreaths, garland and boughs, with tours by appointment and pre-tagging if you want to pick your tree early and collect it later. Pet friendly. There is no farm website — a Facebook page is all they keep — and their growers’ association listing says they are closed for last season.

  • 2026 datesnot publishedlisting says closed for last season
  • TreesFraser fir
  • Pre-taggingYespick early, collect later
  • PetsWelcome
  • Pricesnot publishednot published

What’s there

  • Fraser fir
  • Hayrides
  • Wreaths
  • Garland
  • Boughs
  • Pre-tagging
  • Tours by appointment
  • Restrooms
  • Refreshments
  • Pet friendly

Practical

  • Dogsyes — pet friendly
  • Paymentnot stated
  • Restroomsyes

Before you set offNo website, so everything here comes from their North Carolina Christmas Tree Association listing, which reads “CLOSED FOR 2025 — CHECK BACK NEXT YEAR!”. Ring 336-877-7615 or email clarksevergreens@yahoo.com for this season.

Contact

Checked 14 Oct 2026

Three listings that are not what they look like

Mountain Memories Christmas Trees, Jefferson, is still listed as a choose-and-cut farm by more than one directory. It is not one. The last word from the farm itself says they do not have the supply to open to the public and were assessing whether to reopen in future years — posted in November 2019. Seven seasons later nothing has replaced it. They have grown Fraser fir since 1972 and may still sell wholesale, but do not drive out expecting to cut a tree. The directories also give an address and phone the farm itself does not use: they list 500 Cox Road and 336-246-7037, while the farm’s own page says Bare Knob Road and 336-977-1608.

Grouse Ridge is listed at 14911 Old Hwy 16 in Grassy Creek, with a Facebook link. That link does not go to a farm in Ashe County — it goes to Grouse Ridge Peters Creek, a seasonal lot at 2690 Peters Creek Parkway in Winston-Salem, two hours away, which sells pumpkins in October and trees in December. It is a real place and may well be selling the Grassy Creek farm’s trees, but it is a lot in a city, not a field you can walk. Whether the farm itself opens to the public, we still do not know.

Angelhare Forest Christmas Tree Farm is listed at 841 West Reno Road in Glendale Springs. The farm is certainly trading — Billy and Carol Elledge have been in the tree business since 1986 and were posting through December last year — but the address on their own page is 5620 Tryon Road, Raleigh, four hours east, on 919-612-1183. Like Grouse Ridge, what they present to the public is a Triangle lot rather than the mountain field. If you are in Raleigh that is good news; if you wanted to cut your own in Ashe County, ring first.

Two more farms with nothing to go on

Both are listed in the county’s directories and neither keeps a website. Davis Tree Farm’s page is alive — posting this summer — but carries a phone number and nothing else: no dates, no hours, no prices. Ivy Point’s page simply does not open any more, so whether the farm is still going we cannot say either way. The addresses below come from pickyourownchristmastree.org’s Ashe County list rather than from the farms, and the three cases above are a fair warning about how reliable that is.

If you have been to either this year, tell us what you found and it goes up with a proper card.

West Jefferson and Ashe County questions

Where is the Christmas tree capital of North Carolina?

Ashe County, and it is the Christmas tree capital of the country: no county in America grows more Christmas trees. West Jefferson is its main town, with Jefferson, Glendale Springs, Lansing, Fleetwood and Laurel Springs around it. Almost all of it is Fraser fir, which grows wild only in the southern Appalachians and only at altitude — which is why these few counties supply so much of the east coast.

Which farms near West Jefferson are open in 2026?

Five have published a 2026 schedule. Mistletoe Meadows opens first with 20, 21, 22, 25, 27, 28 and 29 November, then 5, 6, 12 and 13 December, 9am to dark, closed on Thanksgiving Day. Peach Bottom opens the same Friday and runs thirteen days, 10am to 5pm, Thanksgiving included. Frosty’s opens at 3pm that afternoon and runs nine days to 6 December. Day’s opens on Saturday 21 November and Top of the Mountain on Friday 27 November, Fridays and Saturdays only, to 12 December. The other five still show last season on their own sites, or no year at all.

How much is a Christmas tree in Ashe County?

Two farms have a 2026 figure, and they agree: Mistletoe Meadows and Top of the Mountain both charge $85 for a 6–7 ft tree. Top of the Mountain sent us the only full 2026 ladder in the county: $30 for a table top, $45 at 4–5 ft, $65 at 5–6, $85 at 6–7, $100 at 7–8, $140 at 8–9, $175 at 9–10, $230 at 10–11 and $300 at 11–12 ft. Two more publish a ladder with last season’s heading on it: Lil’ Grandfather at $57 at 4–5 ft, $78 at 5–6, $89 at 6–7, $99 at 7–8, then $150 and up to $265 at 11–12 ft, and Lantern Farm from $30 at 3–4 ft to $180 at 9–10 ft. Peach Bottom prices trees it posts to you — $132.95 to $198.95 for a Fraser fir with carriage included — but not trees you cut yourself, so that is not a farm-gate price. Nobody else up here prints a figure; Long’s has a $5-off coupon and no prices to take it off. For comparison, farms near Asheville were $100–$115 at 6–7 ft last season, so Ashe County is the cheaper end of the mountains. What a tree costs collects every real price list we have found.

Which farm has the biggest choice of tree?

Shady Rest in Glendale Springs, by a long way. Alongside Fraser fir it grows Nordmann, Korean, Turkish, concolor and Canaan fir, white pine and Colorado blue spruce, across two sites and more than thirty thousand trees — the widest species list of any farm in the state. For height, Long’s goes to 16 ft and Shady Rest’s choose-and-cut trees to 20 ft.

Which farm is best with children?

Lil’ Grandfather in Laurel Springs, on paper: free horse rides and hayrides, a hay-bale cinema, Santa Claus with his own workshop, a heated restroom and concessions — though it has still posted no 2026 dates, so ring first. Frosty’s runs a trolley or hayride up the mountain and has a winery on the same property for the adults, and it now has its dates up: nine days from 20 November, pets welcome, open all day on Black Friday.

Can I bring my dog?

Frosty’s says yes outright — bring your pet to pick out a tree — and Clark’s Evergreens is listed as pet-friendly. The rest don’t say either way. If it matters, ring the farm; most of these are small family operations and will simply tell you.

Why do so many Ashe County farms still show 2025 dates?

Because a farm that sells most of its trees over three or four weekends to people who come back every year has little reason to update a website in October. Five of the ten here still have last season up, and one of them posts dates with no year attached at all — we caught that by checking the weekdays: 22 November was a Saturday in 2025 and is a Sunday in 2026. The same test is what lets us publish Peach Bottom and Frosty’s as this season’s: their date lists only fit the 2026 calendar. Every directory covering this county republishes last year’s dates as though they were current. We don’t.

Is Mountain Memories Christmas Trees open?

Not to the public, and it has not been for years. The farm’s own last word on it says they did not have enough supply to open and were assessing whether to reopen in future years — posted in November 2019. Several directories still list it as a choose-and-cut farm with an address and phone number that the farm itself does not use. If you are heading for Jefferson, pick one of the farms above instead.

How far is West Jefferson from Boone?

About 45 minutes north on US-221 and NC-194, which makes the two clusters easy to combine in a day. Boone and Watauga County has more farms with 2026 dates up; Ashe County has the bigger trees and the wider choice of species. Asheville is two hours south-west.

How these were checked

Every listing above was read on the farm’s own website, and each card carries the date it was last read. Where a farm keeps no site, the card says so and names the growers’-association listing it came from instead. Five farms of ten have posted 2026 dates. The rest still show last season or no year at all, and each of those cards quotes the farm’s own words and the year attached to them, rather than passing the dates off as this year’s. Two of the five dated farms print no year either — those are published because their dates fall on this year’s weekdays and not on last year’s.

Three farms publish conflicting addresses, and in each case we have used the one on the farm’s own page and said where the others came from. Spot something stale? Say so and it gets fixed.

Also on pickinghours